Have the Grammar Police Knocked Your Confidence?

in #grammar6 years ago

Police_not_man_ganson.svg.png
It's a harsh world on the internet. Sometimes people have no filter and will say whatever they want.

DO YOU HAVE TO TAKE IT ON BOARD THOUGH...?

Of course not. DO NOT TRUST THE WORDS OF A STRANGER, ESPECIALLY ONES THAT ARE AGGRESSIVE WITH THEIR OPINIONS.

Today, I am talking grammar. Over the last few days I have been witnessing on different social media, an influx of grammar police, wading their way through the texts of enthusiastic writers, and tearing them to shreds within seconds.

People need to feel enthused to grow, not belittled. Grammar can be a major problem for some starting out...it was for me. My earlier blogs were terrible (pre-grammar software) and it makes me really protective of people who have great storytelling content, but poor grammar.

Learning difficulties, language barriers, or lack of education, is just a few things that prevent the development of 'correct' grammar. I put grammar in italics because although there are some very strong basic grammar rules, there are alot of different perspectives.

Me being me, I like to be a little more creative than most.

Sometimes people just need to know if their content is good, not if a bloody comma is causing a mischief. If they are seeking advice about grammar, then that is a different matter.

It spoils the learning and the fun experience of new writers.

Another topic that has been grinding my gears.

Do you need an editor/proofreader?

This has been quite irritating. Of course if you are looking to publish a professional piece, a credible paid editor/proofreader would be an advantage. Unless...

You have good editing skills and confidence to do it yourself
You have a group of peers with the skills to help you

A PAID editor, publisher, or proofreader is NOT the only option, and I am actually quite annoyed to see these so called 'professionals' jumping on new writers, suggesting that it is, even in these very early stages.

Learn to grow and write first. Only then, should you trust someone else to edit your master piece, after handing over a large sum of cash(They are not cheap) Also, ensure that they have great feedback, a good online presence and an example of works particuarly in your genre.

Thoughts?

Sort:  

Great article, @sarahewaring!
I agree. Unless you are doing a professional piece (or an assessment item for study), there is 'wiggle room' for personal expression.
Focus on the content and intent of the piece, rather than getting hung up on minor grammatical issues.

Spot on ! I'm studying creative writing at the minute and its a wonder I get good grades because I always get feedback about deviating from the assignment question haha. Not good with rules I am afraid! I think people miss wonderful content when they see with rules only <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56776.60
ETH 2424.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37