English grammar tool for Android

in #grammar7 years ago

Now I'm testing for the first time the Grammarly app for Android, an app that had promised to help me write better in English.

I have installed it from the app store and opened it, but it only played an intro movie, not showing what to do next. Then I opened Android Settings, Language & input.
Screenshot_2017-12-28-08-34-58.jpeg

And there I've activated the Grammarly keyboard and deactivated Gboard.
Screenshot_2017-12-28-08-36-06.jpeg
(You may want to leave both activated if you want to switch between them during typing)

Unlike Gboard, Grammarly version 1.0.44 is by default auto-correcting misspelled words as you type and does not offer suggestions words to choose from yet.

Grammarly keyboard is larger than Gboard and takes almost half of my phone screen.

The question is: does it really help with the grammar? I see no good reason to switch from Gboard to Grammarly yet.

I will test it some more and look forward to the new versions.

Oh, wait a minute!

Word suggestions just appeared after I have activated both keyboards and switched to Grammarly by holding space key and choosing input method.

Now I get beautiful word suggestions and grammar advice from Grammarly keyboard app.

I have logged into my account to be able to add the "Gboard" word to my dictionary, so it does not show in the suggestions anymore.

IMHO Grammarly is definitely an app worth using if you want your posts to be voted.

I still found some misused words when I have read the preview of this post. I guess there is room for improvement. I would like a device that reads my mind and writes the post in a universal language if that is not too much to ask. :)

What other grammar apps do you use?

Sort:  

“Reads mind and writes in universal language...” no, this isn’t too much to ask. 😆

Well, I'm sure there are people who can read thoughts. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43