Graffiti that really pisses me off near my house in Da Nang, Vietnam

in #graffiti24 days ago

I am a big fan of street art but i absolutely despite vandalism. There is a not so fine line between the two and when people hastily spray some garbage on property that is no their own without permission, well, if I was there witnessing it I am big enough that I would do my best to make them stop, physically if necessary. I do not own any property myself but I do know people that do and it is absolutely heartbreaking to have something that you worked on, purchased, cleaned, and took care of completely ruined by some asshole with some paint. It is even worse when the perpetrator isn't even talented. it becomes worse-worse when the building is brand new and the owners are just trying to make their space as attractive as possible.

Unfortunately in Da Nang, there isn't a great deal of quality street art. Most of it is just absolute garbage and is vandalism the likes of which couldn't be considered art by anyone including the person who did it. When these people are caught and either prosecuted or beaten, I celebrate this occurrence.

I saw this while walking my neighborhood today.


image.png

This isn't art, this isn't visionary, this isn't make a statement other than "I am a selfish asshole with no regard to personal property." A single color hastily drawn with a callsign and one that I am going to remember. I am not a resident of this country but if I ever see anyone painting "Knoks" or "Steely" anywhere I am going to assault them. I am sure the owner of this building would more than happily bail me out of prison and speak on my behalf when that time comes.


image.png

The construction of this building was completed just a few weeks ago and the condos aren't even fully occupied yet. The main problem here isn't just that this is an eyesore that does nothing for this already covered in litter area, but because the one person did this, it is almost certainly going to encourage other deviants to follow suit.

I am a big advocate of street art. It is my favorite kind of art but when I see shite like this it does absolutely nothing for the area and discourages people from allowing this sort of thing. You may recall that I have pointed out several areas in the An Thuong area that allow street artists to practice their craft and even provides them with the necessary paint in order to "whitewash" the walls after a certain amount of time. The people who owned these places apparently care about the population as a whole and want to give people, who are mostly kids, a way to explore their creative outlets in a safe environment. But then there are the jackasses that go and do garbage like this.

I know this is a pipe dream, but I sincerely hope that this person or persons get caught and prosecuted. There are many places in this city that actually allow people to do this sort of thing legally, why deface someone else's property when this is the case?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71