AMD Radeon Card goes up in Smoke

in #gpu7 years ago (edited)

Preceding this smoke was a large 3" spark excitement arcing light show, burning plastic and electronic components, my first AMD Radeon fire! Whimper, it's dead Jim.

The best hypothesis so far is that it got out of position when I recently moved and as I pressed the reset button on the case it jarred the card just enough to short circuit during power start up time when there is more current coursing through the system.

Yes, that is gray smoke you can see in the video frame. Click through to the Instagram video for the full horror.

Watch the horror of smoke coming out of a GPU: https://www.instagram.com/p/BdFLK4PhOKy.

spark excitement.jpg

Sort:  

@jollygreenjoint, I have another Radeon card in another computer I'll try first to check the motherboard, cpu and dram, fingers crossed that they are still working. If not this disaster will be very expensive indeed. I prefer AMD but always compare when buying time arrives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57