You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alpha strength vs. self-government: How important are 'alpha males' in today´s society?

in #government8 years ago

Women are more attracted to assertive males; the most assertive males are considered "dominant", although HOW that is expressed varies by culture.

Very few women are going to be attracted to milquetoasts or pajama boys in any culture.

It's not that women can't be assertive; again, the ways that women assert themselves, or assume leadership roles in all-female groups, can be (is usually) different than the ways men use.

We have different biochemicals running through our brains, we have different fun-bits, we have different sexual strategies (one characteristic of this is that women are more attracted to assertive males), and we have a evolutionary history of behavior. All these factors combine in a result:

Men tend towards leadership of society as a whole; this doesn't mean that women can't do it. For the most part, there doesn't tend to be much difference in how any given leader, regardless of fun-bits, rules. On the other hand, a prevailing culture does make a difference...we can see how both the "leaders" and the followers of ISIS treat women, for example.

Great article, Marley!

Sort:  

Thanks for the detailed reply and your kind words, @stevescoins!!
Obviously women can be assertive, too, and they are. However, I am not a big fan of these feminist debates around gender equality in excecutive positions. You mentioned biological differences between men and women and I strongly believe that especially these differences are good reasons why we have (still) more alpha males than alpha females. I am a girl and I am in a leadership position, but I had to work hard for it. Not every lady is willing to fight that way, and I believe that it´s totally OK. Women just have to accept that a forced and not naturally evolved equality doesn´t lead to happiness in the long term. I am talking about leadership positions and not about equality in a sense of human rights (referring to your comment regarding ISIS) - obviously it is not acceptable to treat women differently than men when it comes to their dignity as a human being.
If I don´t stop now, I´ll text another article here :-) It´s a super interesting and always 'trendy' topic! More to be written and discussed soon...!

hey, if I can get you to post another blog, I've done my job today ;>

I'm in agreement with everything you said.

Women just have to accept that a forced and not naturally evolved equality doesn´t lead to happiness in the long term

some surveys have shown that American women are less happy today than 20 years ago; I don't think that it's the equal opportunity that they have achived that causes this, it's the demand for male ..submission?... to the 3rd wave feminist movement. Those males that succumbed to that have created a shortage in the population of men that women want!

Sometimes I wish I was living these 20 to 30 years ago to be honest. The generation of my parents seems to be much more established in that sense. I know there will be a LOT of women hating me for that, but I strongly believe in the success of clear role models - both in professional and private life.

I posted another blog, but it didn´t really touch the same topic.....:-P

There are going to be plenty of guys that haven't fallen for that nonsense. but they are not likely to be middle or upper class; so it's kind of a trade-off IF you're looking for a life-partner with those values.

But I used to "fall in love" and get stupid over women too quickly up to a few years ago; got my heart broke a few times.

Than I saw a line from Malcolm in the Middle that really redefined things for me after I thought about it; the base of any successful intimate relation is sex.

That makes sense to me; one of our basic drives is reproduction, so if you don't have a happy sex life, you aren't likely to be happy. I don't think that means serial boinking, but it does mean knowing what you're looking for, and understanding how to get it.

Ya know, I just assumed that you were talking about finding the right guy from your comment. You could have meant something else...oops ;>

I´ve already found one (after having broken my heart several times, too, so I know what you mean :-)).
Thanks for your open mind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43