You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The war against an individual's freedom and choice is getting more and more high tech and will only expand in scope

in #government8 years ago

I totally agree governments will try more and more of high-tech surveillance and control. But I thing freedom fighters have the upper hand with strong encryption, P2P communications, blockchain based systems etc.

Sort:  

I agree that with using P2P communications and systems like this, tyranny will always be resisted. However, the slow creep of government into everyone's lives where I live seems unstoppable and a big reason of that is that people buy what the government sells them, even if it is based on lies and fueled by the theft of their hard earned money. Fear, unfortunately is a powerful motivator. Just look at our two presidential candidates by the two largest parties here in the States. Both major parties engaging in fear tactics to get their votes, because that is honestly all they have and the only card they can play. And people flock to it. Also, everything that the government sees as a threat to its monopoly on power will be targeted, including Steemit, crypto-curriences etc. This is not a local problem, its a world problem. I hope for the best and work for the best, and will always resist in ways I can, but my pessimism gets the better of me sometimes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56714.19
ETH 2341.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37