Homesteading in Faith _ In the wake of a Government shutdown _ Need to be Off-grid

in #government7 years ago

This morning I woke before my alarm. I am in a military course that was scheduled for 2 weeks, but has now been cut short. The decision to shut down the government means that while Congress has passed laws to ensure that they get paid, even if they fail to fulfill the requirements and duties of their job, I do not get paid. Myself and those deployed and those serving in the military will not get paid as long as they fail to do their job. There are men and women in the military that are in harms way, and will potentially lose their lives for the freedoms of our country. Day in and day out I will still go to work, but what happens when the money has run out? How do we pay our bills? How do we keep our households running? I wonder if congress has truly considered all of the lives effected by this decision. They will not know the concerns because they have ensured that their pay is safe. How does that work? How does the government shut down, but Congress maintains a steady paycheck?

This has re-sparked my desire for and the need to get our homestead off-grid and self-sustaining. Monthly power bill, groceries, heating concerns ... I cannot and will not depend on the compensation for services rendered any longer. I am proud of the work and sacrifices I have done and made over the last 19 years. It has been a honor to work and serve, but that service isn't always honored by our lawmakers. Their recklessness hinders the stability of so many families.

This has sparked a need for community and knowing the people there in. Working to assist someone on their land to barter for a need on ours. Figuring out how to supplement out income utilizing the skills and abilities we have, but doing so in a way that builds community.

I have to look at our goals again. Goals for chickens and chicken coops, raised bed gardens, fruit trees, retirement. The upcoming days and weeks will determine what is a priority.

This morning I woke up disappointed ... but I woke up. I got out of bed and prayed. Thanked my Lord for his faithfulness and consistency when our lawmakers are not. I thanked Him for his peace. I thanked Him for his provision. I thanked Him for his rest. His faithful love endures forever. I woke up disappointed, but not worried.

Sort:  

hello I m upvote.
Pleas upvote and Folback 🙏🏻

Hello @farm-n-faith! This is a friendly reminder that a Partiko user has just followed you! Congratulations!

To get realtime push notification on your phone about new followers in the future, download and login Partiko using the link below. You will also get 3000 Partiko Points for free, and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @farm-n-faith! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @farm-n-faith! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66