You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Corvallis Oregon, to cut social safety net and criminalize the poor.

in #government7 years ago

More laws, so more law enforcement, so less money for that which is not law enforcement.

I can't cite jurisdictions, but in some places it is illegal to feed the poor, in some it is illegal to treat the poor. These and other laws make it illegal to help the poor, but no law is more despicable than one which makes being poor a crime.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Sort:  

Tampa famously arrested a 93 year old pastor for feeding the poor.
A similar event of arresting the compassionate involed a 17 year old who was criminally helping those in need.

"Those who are trying to make the world worse aren't taking a day off, how can I?"

The Tampa pastor was one incident I was trying to remember.

I love your quote. Not seen it before, so I looked it up. A great man said it.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68913.35
ETH 2517.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53