Daily Reading for Monday April 23, 2018

in #gospel6 years ago

Acts 11:1-18

11 Now the apostles and the brothers who were in Ju·deʹa heard that people of the nations had also accepted the word of God. 2 So when Peter came up to Jerusalem, the supporters of circumcision+ began to criticize* him, 3 saying: “You went into the house of men who were not circumcised and ate with them.” 4 At this Peter went on to explain the matter in detail to them, saying:
5 “I was in the city of Jopʹpa praying, and while in a trance I saw a vision, something* descending like a great linen sheet being let down by its four corners from heaven, and it came right down to me.+ 6 Looking closely into it, I observed four-footed animals of the earth, wild beasts, reptiles,* and birds of heaven. 7 I also heard a voice say to me: ‘Get up, Peter, slaughter and eat!’ 8 But I said: ‘Certainly not, Lord, because a defiled or unclean thing has never entered my mouth.’ 9 The second time, the voice from heaven answered: ‘You stop calling defiled the things God has cleansed.’ 10 This happened a third time, and everything was pulled up again into heaven. 11 Also just at that moment, three men were standing at the house where we were staying, having been sent to me from Caes·a·reʹa.+ 12 Then the spirit told me to go with them, not doubting at all. But these six brothers also went with me, and we entered into the house of the man.
13 “He reported to us how he saw the angel stand in his house and say: ‘Send men to Jopʹpa and summon Simon who is called Peter,+ 14 and he will tell you things by which you and all your household may get saved.’ 15 But when I started to speak, the holy spirit fell on them just as it did also on us in the beginning.+ 16 At this I recalled the saying of the Lord, how he used to say: ‘John baptized with water,+ but you will be baptized with holy spirit.’+ 17 If, therefore, God gave the same free gift to them that he gave to us who have believed in the Lord Jesus Christ, who was I that I should be able to hinder God?”+
18 When they heard these things, they stopped objecting,
and they glorified God, saying: “So, then, God has also granted to people of the nations repentance leading to life.”+

image (8).jpg

John 10:1-10

10 “Most truly I say to you, the one who does not enter into the sheepfold through the door but climbs in by another way, that one is a thief and a plunderer.+ 2 But the one who enters through the door is the shepherd of the sheep.+ 3 The doorkeeper opens to this one,+ and the sheep listen to his voice.+ He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. 4 When he has brought all his own out, he goes ahead of them, and the sheep follow him, because they know his voice. 5 They will by no means follow a stranger but will flee from him, because they do not know the voice of strangers.” 6 Jesus spoke this comparison to them, but they did not understand what he was saying to them.
7 So Jesus said again: “Most truly I say to you, I am the door for the sheep.+ 8 All those who have come in place of me are thieves and plunderers; but the sheep have not listened to them. 9 I am the door; whoever enters through me will be saved, and that one will go in and out and find pasturage.+ 10 The thief does not come unless it is to steal and slay and destroy.+ I have come that they may have life and have it in abundance.

image (9).jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60