Gord Downie of Tragically Hip - What Song Did You Love First?

in #gorddownie7 years ago (edited)

I have to admit, I wasn't initially a fan. The lyrics from "Locked In the Trunk of a Car" - don't know how old I am... reverberated from my older brother's bedroom and sent shivers down my spine. At a young age I just didn't get why someone would not know how old they are. Many years later I have grown to appreciate what people heard in "The Hip".

Ahead by a Century I always enjoyed as well as Courage and was caught up in the hype of it all and watched the documentary and surprised myself with knowing more songs than I thought I would.

In this passing today the country is mourning and I feel their pain but I also recall feeling the harsher reality of a loss of a more local musician and friend not too long again. As Downie says:

Music brings people together. So my function in anything I do is to help bring people closer together.

“I go for it; I sing, I dance, I listen to this great band, I do what the music urges.” — Gord Downie, 2009

So go for it, come together, listen to great bands and dance! And share your memories and favourite songs so all can enjoy.

RIP Gord Downie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82