Googly Eyed Street Art : The Goofy Rise of "Eyebombing"

in #googlyeyes7 years ago

google eyes.jpg

Googly Art!


Fellow Steemians, I stumbled onto something hilarious called the googly eyes movement this morning. Who knew?? Apparently "eyebombing" is really a thing now. Wait, what the heck is eyebombing? It's the practice of applying googly eyes to inanimate objects that resemble faces. Call is a low-impact anthropomorphic street art.

There are a number of websites devoted to the googly eye movement. Here's an amazing one below called the GOOGLYEYES FOUNDATION. They'll actually send you a pair of eyeballs to install in your hometown for free! I don't know what it is about all this but I find it hilarious and fascinating. There's just something very enjoyable about these little offset eyeballs that celebrate the under appreciated everyday objects around us.

Screen Shot 2017-06-03 at 1.02.40 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-06-03 at 1.03.42 AM.png

googly-eyes.gif

Screen Shot 2017-06-03 at 1.09.16 AM.png

Grab yourself a set of eyeballs (for free through the Foundation, above) and have some fun!

bollard eyes.jpg

Sources : GOOGLYEYES FOUNDATION . Eyebombing
. THISISCOLLOSAL

follow me @voronoi | design collective @hitheryon

Sort:  

IMG_20161107_164054.jpg
Boo @voronoi !

Haha! With eyelashes, that's next level stuff right there.

Just taking it to the next step.

I must admit I have done this more than once. Many vegetables in my kitchen have eyes-especially at Halloween. It makes for an interesting visual when I am making ratatouille- Arrrrrrggghhhh!

Eye see you.....

Eye see what you did there...

Neyes...

Eye'm glad you g-eye's like cringeworthy puns...

Haha nice I love little ideas like this which brighten up the day

Love it!

I love googly eyes. I have put them on things for years. I would love to see them all over haha! Thanks for the great post.

Followed you.

...everywhere?

Thanks @lauralemons :) glad you enjoyed it!

What a wonderfully happy idea :D

Hilarious!

Funniest part of it : have tips and tricks for this :D

where?

(maybe just my freudian reading skills... I saw an "I have tips and tricks for this" in your original comment)

Ha ha, yeah its about our reading skills :)

It was written on one fo the pics "Tips and tricks" for example- Googly eyes should not be a vandalism :)

yeah... i saw it now, too... lol... anyways, nice meeting you!

steem-on

Same here, have great day :)

Hilarious

LOL that is too funny. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70