Google plus lessons

in #google5 years ago

There has been many times, I have seen people and corporates resist to learn things, till the market has thought them those facts, with a PUNCH in to the face!

Google Plus was another sample!

Google-to-Shutdown-Google-after-private-user-data-exposed.jpg
image source

In the same category, social media, Google+ is not alone. previously we had:

  • Yahoo 360
  • Orkut
  • MySpace
    and many more who shutdown for not being welcome by users. even a giant like Facebook is experiencing market loss these days.

what happened to Google+ ?

Google was expecting to shut down G+ AUG 2019, but moved up the date to April 2019. The expedited expiration date is due to a second vulnerability that impacted more than 50 million users. The vulnerability possible exposed profile information to developers which hurts me as a Google user, as I write these lines!!

But if you ask me, this countdown started long time ago, when Google avoided to see the reallity of market needs. For me, as a site admin and business developer, Google Plus was just an imposed SEO mean. not a really engaging social media. this is enough for a product to fail.

Google is a sample of Creativity among brands, and the driving engine of this creativity is its employees.

but even Google should learn to listen to customers not employees. Customers need somthing NEW and ENGAGING not just another brick in their social media experience.

Will FaceBook be the next punched student of markets? or you think they will be more agile and fit?

Sort:  

I hope that Facebook will be replaced. I am tired of their greediness and complete disregard of protecting their users. But people are addicted to it right now.

Posted using Partiko iOS

FB is greedy and arrogant! I do agree

Google+ was never huge, but some people did (and still do) use it and are upset that their preferred social media platform is being yanked out from under them. What "happened" to Google+ was that Google initially arrogantly assumed they could leverage their other services to get people onto G+ by forced integration that people didn't want, which created a backlash. Furthermore, their initial interaction model guided people toward sharing posts only with their circles, which meant that from the outside most of the interaction that was happening was invisible, which fed into the "ghost town" narrative that the media latched on to. Since they were facing an uphill climb in a negative media landscape they couldn't achieve the kind of growth to become the "Facebook killer" that they hoped it would be.

very well said 👏👏👏
have you used and analysed LinkedIn? I'd like to know your thoughts on them

I have a LinkedIn account, but I haven't really used it much so I don't feel like I have an informed opinion.

great example, i was going through a bout of lacking confidence in steem overnight, social media is a delicate thing... i still see STEEM platforms as lacking focus, like the Steemmonsters, it seems kind of silly to me.

the confidence will be back once the prices back to old levels 😉

I was on G+ since beta days and it was “ok” until.... they remapped the entire platform, added communities and then utterly destroyed itself from the inside out. Their UI was built, seemingly, by people who do not socialize..LOL Glad to have been a part of it, but also surprised it lasted this long (the user base vanished half a decade ago).

great point: designed by ppl who don't socialize! 👍

It was about time. I really cannot think of anything of value that Google + added to my social experience.

i was using G+ for its SEO helps! but I have seen some ppl who liked the experience

people got bored since it did not present anything outstanding. sorry to see it go but it's better that way.

yes, no value added to our social activities...

man's dissatisfaction and need for variety surely triggered this. new platforms should have integration with other basic apps so it will be like a one-stop thing and not inconvenience the users.

Klout and StumbleUpon also shut down this year it hasnt been a good year for alternative social media websites

I think Facebook won't fall any time soon, its combination of Instagram and Whatsapp make it a giant that doesn't have a single point of failure like other brands did. I do think there are opportunites to eat away its market share but as it contiues to grow in developing nations in Africa and Asia it stil has plenty of room to add new users

i do agree on FB weight. the US and EU market is way more important for them

I have never used Google Plus, I have no friends using Google Plus for me to interact with .... To me its a Ghost town.

I deactivated my Facebook Account about a year ago after learning about their privacy failures.

Posted using Partiko iOS

wise decision 😉

I can say they don't know actually how to take a business to maturity level.. mmm.. actually they know, but they didn't give enough focus on G+ .. but G+ was really good but technology full

Posted using Partiko Android

it is not all about technology. a service needs customers engagement more than fancy tech

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88