You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Goodbye Visit with my Grandmother

in #goodbye6 years ago

I'd like to express my condolences too.
I'm an oldest grandchild also and even though the distance you had to your grandmother (probably) exceeds the distances I have to my grandmas I never had a similar relationship to either and neither the money to pay them visits on my own. Both are on their late eighties too and the older one has increasing dementia for about 4 years, being completely bedridden and locked-in with herself now for a year. In fact I don't know about her current state actually as even my father's visits to her are getting rare.
She still got to see my sister's kids grow in their early years before that cruel process started. Being without a family of my own I have remained the looser of the family. :/

Sort:  

Thank you very much. Yeah, every relationship is different, even between the 5 grandkids my grandmother had and her. I was fortunate to have the ability to go see her so many times, and I don’t take that for granted.

Dementia/Alzheimer’s is such a cruel disease.... my mom’s mother passed away after struggles with that. I have great sympathy for families going through that. I wish you and your family well.

Thank you for the kind words 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78