A Guide To Using The Sound of Rain To Improve Relaxation & Productivity

in #good-vibes8 years ago (edited)

cyberpunk_by_anndr-da8chyb27b21.jpg

Gloomy days, gloomy days, like the end of days.
The mess that multiplies out in the open when it rains.. it all adds up to a certain kind of beauty that I can't really explain.

Yes, I'm a rain addict. I love the sound of rain. It's the most beautiful noise in existence! Some say it's quite like the sound of being in our mother's womb. Some say it's our evolutionary preference - of feeling safe and secure hiding in caves. Whatever it is, I'm here today to guide you through a cheap and effective setup.


How To Make It Rain?

First off, you need a sound signal - and where do you get this? There are two types of rain samples:-
a) Recorded live samples: Plenty on Youtube. Just search for it and find for the ones you love.
b) Generated samples: This is based on grain sampling, layering, and mathematical wizardry.

My ultimate recommendation is to use the frequency-shaped rain noise generator over in https://mynoise.net/. The samples are top-notch, and you can even sculpt them. The paid version is cheap and worth every penny in my opinion. The wealth of noises and presets available is a dream, but here's my favourite combination:-

rain10fcec.png

1. Go to https://mynoise.net/. Open these links in separate tabs.

rain29280d.png

2. Try the "Rainy Day" preset under Rain on a Tent. Don't close the tab!

rain3beb44.png

3. Then layer up using the "Rainy Season" preset under Jungle Life for the best eargasm!


Tweak Your Sound To Make It Better!

Finding your rain noise is half the battle! Now the other half is to tweak your sound. I wouldn't recommend earphone / headphone because it can never sound natural. Speakers are a thousand times better - just about any set of speakers will do. Try tuning your low frequencies (bass) if you love to hear the thunder a little louder. Tweak your high frequencies too - you can induce "coziness" and "spaceyness" this way. Sound quality is really up to personal taste, but my recommendation would be to place your satellite speakers in natural vectors for rain noise. You know your location best.


Use Rain To Amplify Your Mood!

There are plenty of use cases for using rain noise in your everyday life. If you use it for work, expect a boost in productivity! If you use it for sleep, expect ultimate relaxation! If you have a significant other, use it when you're watching a movie together at night! The feels.

rainwindow56438.md.jpg

My friend even uses it for his cozy little cafe outside of town. The trick is to make the experience consistent - you can't have a clear sunny view while you're listening to the sound of rain!

And remember that it's best used as background noise. Feel free to layer it up using music as the foreground.

Did I just write a post about rain? LOL. Hope it adds to your everyday experience!

#cyberpunkmoodsimulator


Edit update: Why is rain a common element in cyberpunk? Is it about acid rain?


Follow Me @kevinwong

Sort:  

Great idea. I don't really need it that much here in England because it rains pretty much all the time. It's a pain when you are out and about but it is certainly a pleasant sound when you are trying to relax. I also have an app on my iphone that does the same for when I am away or on holiday.

So nice.. it only rains here once every 2-3 weeks on average.. Which app is this? Rainy Day?

Thanks for the link-tip, that page is great! I don't know how long I spent trying to mix the perfect rain, but it was totally worth every second. You had me on "rain in a tent", I more or less grew up in one. The realism is astounding.

And now please excuse me, I have a drone track to compose :p

Glad you enjoyed it man :) Talking about drone tracks - here's a pretty damn awesome album that fits well with the topic in mind (it's not drone exactly, but ambient, atmospheric, and it seeps into your bones!)

https://dreamcatalogue.bandcamp.com/album/rain-temple

Hi kevin!!! Great post, go on!

I can't a imagine better situation to fall asleep: sitting in front of a camin and listening to the thunder outside.

Thanks for the post my friend

Instant sleep!! lol

Thank you for the article. Everything is painted in detail!

Thank you kevin another great post, makes me want to dable a bit lol

I love the rain I love to sleep when it rains. This post is just insane man !

I'm going to make my own rainy experience tonight when I go to bed.

Great post !

@takeiteasy

Try adjusting the bass.. have fun!

I'll slap some Filters on it also maybe some echo as well!

#takeiteasy

I would have it on in the afternoons on full jungle rain!

I have seen it done in restaurants and in supermarkets they use it in the veg section. They actually time an automatic water spray with the sound of thunder.

Cheers,

I switch between rain sounds and tibetan singing bowl meditations when I go to sleep, great stuff!

I do this a lot when i cant sleep and it relaxes me so much. I have never thought to use it outside of home. I'll have to try it tomorrow on my way to work. Great article! Upvoted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62516.71
ETH 2436.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65