[TAGS] Current transliteration rules (rus -> english) in Golos [INFO]

in #golos7 years ago

Today @zoss from Golos community asked me to help to find transliteration rules which are active for Golos.io web platform tags. I searched via google for some time, then searched through source code of Golos, and I did found them! So this post is intended for those who is writing own applications and unsure how to convert everything correctly. And also this post covers google loophole when you cannot find info on this topic, this post should pop up in google results. At least, I hope so! :)

Tag transliteration rules (golos cyrillic -> latin)

Also I am going to write here some words like cyrillic, latin, translit, transliteration, so google could find and index this article. ;)

Converting tags from cyrillic to latin in golos

Let's do it.

How to transliterate your tag from cyrillic to latin

As my logic follows: if this function is done by webclient of Golos.io (it's name is Tolstoy) - as far as I could understand this moment from @vik alternative golos posting client, so you have to search for it in source code of Tolstoy (it's fork of Steemit condenser.

Here is the Tolstoy itself:

https://github.com/GolosChain/tolstoy

As far as we are searching methodics for tag transliteration, I found this file in repo:

https://github.com/GolosChain/tolstoy/blob/master/app/components/pages/TagsIndex.jsx

And in this file there are relevent links to parsers page: app/utils/ParsersAndFormatters. There I found the algorithm I've been searching for!

https://github.com/GolosChain/tolstoy/blob/master/app/utils/ParsersAndFormatters.js

I hope this post gonna be useful whatever you're developing (or not :)

This is my story how I discovered secret of cyrillic parsing into latin in golos.

Tell everybody

Here, in commens section, what apps are you developing in steemit or golos?

P.S. I also found interesting link in source code, that heads up to a table about working with numericals in different countries languages. Very interesting and useful: http://www.unicode.org/cldr/charts/latest/supplemental/language_plural_rules.html

This article was about transliterating russian cyrillic words into english or latin alphabet with some links to code from tolstoy client.


take care,
Den Ivanov aka @SXIII

Sort:  

Hello, Den!) @ @sxiii . My name is Dmitriy. @dizmur. Follow you wwith GOLOS. It will be pleasant to follow you. I want to become friends with you and experience part of the experience. How is it possible to contact you, talk about professional activities on Steem and Golos ?

Hello @dizhmur, it's possible to contact me via telegram @fakesnowden. Sorry for late answer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40