My journey to scratch. Teeing off

in #golf7 years ago

image
So the title may be ambitious, but that is the goal. I have just taken up the age old game of golf.

I played about 10 years ago when I was staying in the UK, and when I say "I played", I really mean 3 rounds either side of the fairway. I think I may have had 1 lesson, but clearly it was not that impactful.

So here I start, onwards to the proverbial 1st tee.

My journey really started when I knew I was joining a new company that was renowned for playing lots of corporate golf. Me being me, got excited of the prospect of getting into something new and making millions! Ok, maybe the millions is more of a fantasy.

Not having my own clubs I borrowed a set from my new manager, until I could get a set of my own. I did go for a swing analysis, as from when I did play years ago I know I have a fast swing from playing hockey at school. Turns out, my club speed was almost tour speed. Thats what I was told, and made me feel more confident so I am holding onto it.
image

The week I started my new job there was a golfday arranged and my chance to get out there and showcase my lack of skill. My biggest fear was that 1st tee shot.

I wasn't worried about hitting it straight or far, my focus was getting past the ladies tee or 1. itemeven just getting off the box.

Being a golfday, I was about 2 beers down. The last one minutes before trying to hit that small white ball with my on-loan metal rods...

... the ball went far, straight and led to a par. "This is easy!" Famous last words. I ended up shooting 103, so +30. But I loved it!

Since then, I have been to the driving range a few times and tried to implement what I have learned on YouTube. Yes, YouTube. Learning has never been as accessible as it is today. I must have watched about 6 hours of tutorials, tips and tricks.

Fast forward a month from the golfday and I have my own set, well Irons, a putter, a bag and some other bits-n-bobs. I took full advantage of The Pro Shop sale! Wife is not that happy with me 😉 I got Srixon Z355 stiff shaft irons and a Cleveland Rho putter. Driver will come when there is more budget available.
image
image

Do I think I will be a scratch golfer, I dont know. How long will it take, not sure. What I do know is that I want to get to a low as possible handicap I can within 12 months. More importantly, enjoy it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tristan.dennis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

nice post, i follow you, plz like my post and follow me and comment too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63