Sri Lanka's N Thangaraja receives the winners trophy as hosts

in #golf6 years ago

arabic-keyboard-color.jpgThangaraja, the overnight leader by two shots, bagged his third PGTI title as he ended the week with a record total of 22-under-266.

India's Veer Ahlawat carded a three-under-69 on the final day to finish runner-up at 16-under-272. Among the Bangladeshi golfers, Mohammad Sajib Ali had the best finish as he clinched fifth place with a total of 11-under-277.

Thangaraja (65-67-68-66), who was in contention in the last two PGTI events before slipping on the final day on both occasions, managed to set the record straight this time around.

The 36-year-old did not look to be in any trouble from the very start as he sank birdies on the third and sixth to extend his lead to three shots on the front-nine. He then went on to tighten his grip on the title with four more birdies on the back-nine. Thangaraja thus signed off with a bogey-free effort.

Thangaraja, who pocketed a paycheque of 6.46-lac-taka, said he was delighted with the achievement. “I'm just delighted that I kept my focus and got the job done unlike the previous two events where I missed out on converting my opportunities in the final stages. It's great to win a title after such a long gap and that too with my best ever four-round total of 22-under.”

“I really enjoyed playing at the BGCC and look forward to coming back to this top-class venue next year,” added the Colombo native.

Sort:  

Genius is a great post, so you countless
Thank you so much for fun, funny writing. I'm a general steemit user. I want to follow the wonderful people like you. Please give me upvote and follow me.

yes stay connected with me by following me
i will follow you and give upvote

Hey @sajada21, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

@Exxodus Thanks. I will try to write enjoyable content

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51