Follow my Friend as he Tries to Win the 2017 Long Beach Match Play GOLF Tournament

in #golf7 years ago

I do a vlog about golf but even if you are not a golfer I think you will enjoy this.

In that journey one of my friends, a college golfer named Andrew Fernandes, has been in a lot of my videos since he was a high school junior. We now he is a college golfer (freshman) and competing in the 2017 long beach match play championship a pretty prestigious, high level amateur golf tournament out here. Andrew is hoping to do well to increase his standing in college golf and hopefully attract some attention from Division 1 school to be on their golf teams and I decided to vlog his journey on my youtube channel.

It's been going great.

He shot 9 under 63 in the first day of qualifying and lead the field by 3 shots. One the second day he shot 1 under and was the medallist. That means he was the qualifier with the best score and thus was the top seed. Here is my vlog from qualifying.

Then after qualifying, the low 64 players were bracketed into matches. Andrew was the TOP seed (kind of like the NCAA basketball tourney) and in THE ROUND OF 64 he ran into a somewhat unexpectedly formidable opponent, a man named Steven Wagner who is about 30 years Andrews senior, rarely makes mistakes and really is a gamer! The match and conclusion were thrilling! (this video)

Then after that HUGE win on the 19th hole. ANdrew was set to play against a Division 1 golfer from Pepperdine University named Hunter Epson in THE ROUND OF 32. A little backstory, Andrew and Hunter both went to local golf powerhouse Wilson High School and were good friends on the team. Last year was there senior high school year and they won the Section CIF championship together. Sometime Andrew was the #1 golfer on that team but usually Hunter was. This Match was another TOUGH one and Andrew really was struggling with driver and the Out of Bounds ball. Watch the full match here, I was able to get a second cameraman for this one

So Andrew moves onto the ROUND OF 16 and will face Deyeon Moon a high school golf star from Anaheim. That match will be up soon on my youtube channel (already filmed it).

I hope you STEEMIT guys enjoy this, a lot of people tell me these are more interesting than watching golf channel. I agree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57897.73
ETH 3060.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26