You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have you ever lost work motivation

in #goledenproject6 years ago (edited)

This is an interesting post because it got me thinking about how motivation can be a luxury. If basic necessities are not insured, motivation is survival. There's never a question of displeasing a boss, because when food and shelter are at stake, pleasing the boss means life.

I've never been in a position where I had to work or not eat. It's always been possible (though not easy) for me to leave a job that was unsatisfying. Usually my departure was due more to an unpleasant work environment than to poor compensation. But, again, that is a luxury.

Maybe because I was very poor as a young child, I'm aware of how desperate people can be. Their lives depend on keeping a job.

Adulthood had been kinder to me. Today I have food, shelter, clothes, and medical care pretty much assured. But I think once you've been poor, you are always aware of others who are without basic necessities.

I know you didn't mean for this discussion to go where I took it. Sorry. That's just where my mind went.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66