Where in the World is Goldmoney Contest Submission #GOLDMONEYWASHERE

in #goldmoneywashere7 years ago (edited)

Ok so I am a big fan of Goldmoney.com and @goldmatters on Steemit and wanted to enter his #whereintheworldisgoldmoney contest.

You can sign up for a Goldmoney account by starting here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

I work about 12 hours per day and commute 1 hr each way, so visiting any of the 10 key locations to get a photo with my #goldmoneywashere sign is just about impossible.

I like to metal detect and research history on my little hometown, in Ohio. At some point I will most likely donate my metal detecting finds that relate to my hometown, to my local museum.

My submission is a 1907 landscape photograph of my hometown, just before a fire leveled part of the main street. Gold and silver were still the money back then, and occasionally I find a coin that was lost on one of those dirt roads or grass covered "sidewalks". Once I even found a solid gold pocket watch from 1824, very near the buildings that you see on the right side!
Many of the buildings still stand and are now small shops that I frequent whenever possible. I like to buy local and don't mind paying a little more to keep these stores in business.

Whether I win or not, please take a moment to remember the local hardware store, meat market, or grocery store that USED to be in your hometown, before the big stores shut them down. I like shopping where the person behind the counter knows my name and my favorite items. Buy local, whenever you can and give that little bit of extra gas money to help support local small businesses.

Ok that being said, i thought you might enjoy a vintage photo, more than a modern main street view in the dark. Also added a few gold and silver paperweights. GOOD LUCK EVERYONE !

20170803_211151.jpg

Sort:  

This is so cool! I love the history and the personal nature of this post , and it even has some GOLD!! Great post my friend!

The coins added just made it even better !! Even to the next level @goldmatters

Thanks! I hope to post more of my coins and detecting finds someday! @journeyoflife

I actually did peep this one a coupe days ago. It was a super fun challenge, and @goldmatters is a very generous guy

Yes, looking forward to Part II of the @goldmatters Goldmoney contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46