Silhouettes in Evening Mist – Halong Bay, Vietnam – GoldenHour Photography

in #goldenhourphotography6 years ago (edited)

 A 2-day trip aboard a traditional junk on Vietnam’s magnificent Halong Bay is a wonderful experience in itself. After you’ve sailed through the stunning scenery and explored some otherworldly caves, a fine sunset is simply a bonus.

[Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Eons pass 

A UNESCO World Heritage Site, Halong Bay features many islands and towering limestone karsts. Since limestone is soluble in water, it is worn away by waves, over thousands of years. The constant erosion has produced the caves that are one of the bay’s dominant and appealing features.  

Silhouettes remain 

As evening fell and we exited the caves, we saw the evening sun resting at the end of a frail twig protruding from a nearby tree.

The clear day had turned misty, but the sun was still bright enough to cast the leaves and branches into stark silhouette. And bright enough to sparkle off the water, providing a vivid highlight behind the solitary silhouette gazing over the bay.

Location – Halong Bay, on Google Maps

 

This is my entry in @juliank’s GoldenHour Photography contest.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-06T03:20:03
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 577.01/800.00
Total Photos: 68
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

At first, I thought the two dots in the sun were helicopters. Great shot.

Hmmm, it seems like you still cannot escape those haunting memories of 'Nam. ☺
Hope this photo helps!

I’ve never actual been. Movies got my brain warped. 🤪

I was in Halong Bay in the far 2009! I took a 3 day cruise from Hanoi. It was beautiful.
I couldn't think about going there now, with the amount of tourist that Vietnam has been attracting in the last 9 years!

I have seen many pictures of this world heritage site but could not visit there. Halong Bay is really amazing.
In your photo, the reflection of sunlight in the water looks like a river of melted gold is flowing. Amazing photo!

" ... river of melted gold." Love that phrase!

Thank you!

Wow! I wish I had more time around Halong Bay. The time I went it was super rainy. Such a beautiful shot!

Halong Bay seems to be a nice tourist spot..!

A trip on those passenger boats around the small islands sounds sounds like a perfect holiday tour.

Btw, is that u in hat..?

~ Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

Hmmm, it might be. It's so dark, I cannot confirm exactly who it is. ☺

haha.. okay, let it be undefined..! xD

Who was sitting here? If you then who took the photo?

Kinda looks like me. Truth is, I cannot remember if it was me, or who took the photo. But I assume it was taken by some other traveller on our junk.

Great photo. To look at this sunset costs more than money. Good luck to you and Love.

Великолепная фотография. Посмотреть на такой закат стоит больше чем деньги. Удачи Вам и Любви.

Great shot, I have always wanted to make a trip to Halong Bay. How long do you think would be a reasonable amount of time to spend there? Oh by the way, I have the #tepchallenge running again now and will slowly be promoting it when I have time, look forward to seeing more of your travels in the near future!

It is a good experience to see the sunset sitting alone. After all great photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45