Golden Hour: epic sunset over the Statue of Liberty

in #goldenhourphotography7 years ago (edited)

The #goldenhourphotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests is one my favorite photo contests here on Steemit and I am always happy to participate in it.

My today´s entry is definitely one of the most captivating sunset shots I have ever taken but unfortunately, I had a very bad camera back then in summer 2010 when the photo was created so the quality of the image is a far cry from what I wish it was.

Anyway, here is some background info. I was on my work-and-travel program that summer, working as a maintenance guy at a golf and tennis camp in Maine. After the working part of the program was over, I could enjoy a whole month of traveling and New York was one of the first cities I visited.

I think it was just a coincidence that my ferry trip from Manhattan to the Staten Island took place right before the sunset so we were privileged to witness this spectacular scene with sun setting right above the Statue of Liberty, creating this amazing golden aura around the statue´s head.

It felt like the extraordinary natural setting only added to the magnificence and symbolism of the iconic U.S. landmark. Easily one of the highlights of my NYC adventure and a night to remember.

Czech: Myslím, že moje dnešní fotka asi nepotřebuje žádný obšírný komentář. Sochu Svobody jste určitě poznali, takže jen dodám, že fotka byla pořízena z lodi plující z Manhattanu na Staten Island (jedna z pěti čtvrtí / městských obvodů New Yorku). Tenkrát jsem měl naprosto příšerný foťák blíže nespecifikované značky (a velikosti klasické pálené cihly), takže výsledné foto je nevalné kvality, což mě celkem mrzí, protože to mohla být opravdu hodně zajímavá momentka. No nic, tak třeba někdy příště. Hezký zbytek víkendu všem českým a slovenským Steemařkám a Steemařům :)
Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Já nevím, ale já tu žádnou fotku nevidím...

You stole this post from me. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to flag someone for the very first time :)

Řekl bych, že na tyto krádeže postů mají bota. Odpovědi se tedy nejspíše nedočkáš. Už jednou jsme tu měli podobný problém.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68164.82
ETH 2641.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70