Daily Photo: Before it sets

Goldenhourphotography_20180128.jpg

Back in the day when HDR (High Dynamic Range) was the rage, I experimented with combining bracketed exposures. If you don't know what that means, it's essentially the process of taking an underexposed, overexposed and correctly exposed photo and combining them to create an image with the maximum amount of dynamic range. Because it was new-ish back then (I'm talking about a decade ago), people went nuts and cranked the HDR dial to eleven. This created images that were "unreal" looking. People still use it to this day, but in general, the trend has been to use HDR in a more modest way. In my opinion, anything that mimics the dynamic range the eye can see is okay with me. Above that, well, to each their own.

This was shot on the banks of the Fraser River in Vancouver looking towards the airport. If you squint, you can see the airport control tower. I'm not shooting much like this anymore, but perhaps you'll see me post another HDR image from back in the day. Hope you like the image!

Image Metadata

ParameterSetting
CameraCanon 40D
LensCanon EF-S 17-55mm 2.8 IS
Zoom17mm
Aperturef/8
Shutter speed1/100
ISO100

Steemit_Signoff_duranc_2.jpg

Sort:  

Lovely shot, none of the harsh halo's that became so associated with HDR but SHOULD have been associated with BAD HDR!

Yes, halo is nasty. I forget which software I used for this, but it worked quite well in combining the bracketed shots. Thanks for the compliment btw!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61796.23
ETH 2480.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64