Winter Glow over Lake Shwatka (Yukon Chills)

The Southern Winds have come: the local temperature rose from -35 to -9 degrees Celsius, in 48 hours. Tomorrow it might reach 0. That is excessively mild for mid-January in the Yukon.

The gusting was quite intense, and led to some beautiful snow swirling on the lake (I captured some footage, but need to review whether the effect is noticeable).

shwatka2.jpg

This is part of the Yukon River, just below the infamous Miles Canyon area, where many a pioneer voyaged back during the Gold Rush of 1898. The lake is a result of a power-turbine-station lower down (this used to just be a shallow river fan).

shwatkatrees.jpg

I figured the open skies would make for some interesting horizons as the late light settled in, so I raced over to Lake Shwatka to see what I could find.

shwatka1.jpg

At the moment I don't own a decent camera, and am stuck using my Samsung S6 (which does a fair job), so I hope you appreciate the photos for what they are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63167.88
ETH 3372.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45