You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gold premiums dropping hard at my local coin shop! Reckless Crypto buyers are the reason they say.

in #gold7 years ago

Thanks for the observation, @broncnutz. I've seen this kind of action several times before where dealers aren't willing to buy product, or they will at significantly below spot. It's usually in response to people who get into PMs as a quick-hit investment rather than as a long-term wealth insurance vehicle.

It happened after 2000 like you mentioned and it also happened in 2011 after silver spiked to $50 then came crashing back down.

Local Coin Stores are just not able to handle large inflows and outflows like a big bank or a brokerage handles stocks, and that bottle-neck is one of the downsides to stacking PMs. There's no quick in and quick out.

Not that that's ever bothered me. I've been stacking since the 90's and in all that time, I've never once considered selling any of my product. I bought gold in the $250s in 2000 and I bought gold in the $1900s in 2011. I'm not in this game to buy low and sell high. I'm in it to buy, buy, buy! I'm in it because I KNOW the system WILL break down and I want to be prepared for me and my loved ones. I fully expect to pass it down to my family if the inevitable reset does not happen in my lifetime. All I know is that it HAS to happen.

Interesting observation that dealers are paying below spot, but it does not impact me one iota.

Keep on Stackin, Brother!

Sort:  

Great reply once again Stacks! I never sell either, the system will break in out lifetime and metal is one of the best ways to keep yourself from being a govt slave. Stack on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42