You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learn Something New Every Day Contest. Day 1

I'm loving this, education = money, how to keep people growing the best they can be, I think you found the solution, without 9 to 5.

Did you know bananas are are curved because they grow against gravity? They start downwards and then because bananas are trying to get more sun, they are trying to grow against gravity (upwards) and then they end up curved.

Sort:  

Sounds perfectly logical. Never really thought about it, I just accepted at a young age bananas were curved and never thought about it. But your fact does make perfect sense. Did you know that in places where they grow bananas like Hawaii, they let them ripen still on the tree until they are a brown to black color before they even pick them? The yellow bananas that we get in the mainland of the United States are actually picked green and considered very immature, and they ripen during the travel to wherever it is they are going.

I didn't know for Hawaii and their banana process but in general. I found out when I had my banans yellow-black but more black, and I was like ewww, and my mom said, the black is the delicious spot on banana and since then I can't eat green-yellow or pure yellow bananas, I have to let them ripe to blackish, atleast yellow with many black spots :)

I haven't had the pleasure of having a fresh banana in Hawaii myself, but I have heard from more than one person that ripening on the tree thing to be the case. I would love to visit those islands one of these days!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42