GODS UNCHAINED - My expectations for the 29th of October 2019

in #gods5 years ago (edited)

The new game by Immutable will be getting fully released on the 29th of October 2019 AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time) and I wanted to give my opinion on what I am excited about.

Lock of the Genesis Cards

You will not be able to purchase any more of these Genesis cards unless you buy them off other players but the best thing about them is they will be evergreen which will make them usable forever and shouldn't be locked out for use in tournaments.

From playing the few games that I have played with these cards I think there will be some great cards that will be used in decks for years to come such as.

As a backup plan when a game gets to unlock the 9th mana

and as another example but of the common rarity

To duplicate powerful opponents who have shielded, frontline and/or deadly.

Opening of the marketplace

All the ETH that we have spent on buying packs will now be sellable on the marketplace so you can get rid of duplicates or purchase much needed cards for building a deck or for collecting.

This is the main reason that Gods Unchained caught my attention and I started playing it 3 weeks ago. I have purchased just over 300 rare packs and have been lucky to have received 5 Diamond cards with one of them being a Diamond Legendary. I'm most intrigued if there are going to be collectors out there who will be wanting to collect Diamond cards as I have put all my cards for sale on tokentrove.io which is the marketplace linked to gudecks.com.

I have the feeling that the marketplace will have a slow uptake for people to use it frequently as they do need to make it easier for people to activate their cards to ERC-721 tokens. Currently right now I have had to activate each 6 pack of cards that I have bought and in doing so paying to gas to put it onto the blockchain. Each transaction has cost about USD $0.5 which doesn't sound like much but adds up when you need to do this 50 times.

Another side of me says that the people who are going to be serious about playing this game for tournaments and for fun will capitalise on the fact that ETH price is low to be able to buy cards at a lower price if they are buying from fiat currency and not from their crypto holdings but we will see what happens in 5 days.

Game Progression

When the beta ends on the 29th all game progression and core cards acquired will be reset.

I originally got into this game to invest in some cards and then to sell off instantly to make a quick buck but after playing a bit of the game it is quite addictive and I have started building a War and Nature deck. After listening to some of the twitch streams from the Immutable team they have been saying that they will be fixing the problem of the game needing so much computational power because let's be honest...this TCG game shouldn't need that much power and will eventually be able to be run on mobile as shown in the Trello roadmap.

https://trello.com/b/dytgSh20/public-roadmap-april-2019-onward

I will continue to play this game as I believe in what they have done by giving value to anyone that puts money into the game. One thing I love is that the team have acknowledged that players can do whatever they like in the game so if you do get sick of playing the game you can sell all of your cards and get some of your money back or even better...make a profit.

Other Resources

If you are interested in this game check out some resources that I have found to be helpful

https://godsunchained.com - Main website
https://gudecks.com/ - Information on community made decks, stats and marketplace
https://tokentrove.io/GodsUnchainedCards?sort=price-desc&page=2 - Marketplace on Tokentrove.io
https://gucardprices.com/ - Card price calculator before marketplace opens up
https://blog.godsunchained.com/ - Official blog for Gods Unchained

Let me know your thoughts below on what you think will happen when Gods Unchained releases out of beta

Sort:  

Congratulations @flaredfang! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82