Question for the religious

in #god6 years ago


When did you first start to believe in god and why?

I am asking, because I wonder about what the cause and or reasoning behind your belief in god. I would also like to know which god you believe in and who first taught you about the religion you are in. Was it your parents or a priest? Did friends or strangers at your door convince you about the "truth" of your beliefs in a higher power. And when were you first convinced that your belief in your god is in fact true. What would be the defining factor that would make your belief true above all other religions?

I would really love to know. Thank you for taking the time to read this and hopefully to answer my questions too.
Sort:  

I felt the Holy Spirit draw me when I heard Billy Graham preach on TV in the late 1960s and early 1970s.

One thing that convinced me of the truth of the gospel is that it spread so fast that people who were hostile to it could have debunked it if it wasn't true.

As Paul said,

(1 Corinthians 15:3-8 NIV) For what I received I passed on to you as of first importance : that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, {4} that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures, {5} and that he appeared to Peter, and then to the Twelve. {6} After that, he appeared to more than five hundred of the brothers at the same time, most of whom are still living, though some have fallen asleep. {7} Then he appeared to James, then to all the apostles, {8} and last of all he appeared to me also, as to one abnormally born.

Also, possibly the best proof of the gospel is the conversion of Saul of Tarsus on the road to Damascus. He became Paul the Apostle. He wrote 13 books of the New Testament. Here's his testimony:

(Acts 22:3-21 NIV) "I am a Jew, born in Tarsus of Cilicia, but brought up in this city. Under Gamaliel I was thoroughly trained in the law of our fathers and was just as zealous for God as any of you are today. {4} I persecuted the followers of this Way to their death, arresting both men and women and throwing them into prison, {5} as also the high priest and all the Council can testify. I even obtained letters from them to their brothers in Damascus, and went there to bring these people as prisoners to Jerusalem to be punished. {6} "About noon as I came near Damascus, suddenly a bright light from heaven flashed around me. {7} I fell to the ground and heard a voice say to me, 'Saul! Saul! Why do you persecute me?' {8} "'Who are you, Lord?' I asked. "'I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom you are persecuting,' he replied. {9} My companions saw the light, but they did not understand the voice of him who was speaking to me. {10} "'What shall I do, Lord?' I asked. "'Get up,' the Lord said, 'and go into Damascus. There you will be told all that you have been assigned to do.' {11} My companions led me by the hand into Damascus, because the brilliance of the light had blinded me. {12} "A man named Ananias came to see me. He was a devout observer of the law and highly respected by all the Jews living there. {13} He stood beside me and said, 'Brother Saul, receive your sight!' And at that very moment I was able to see him. {14} "Then he said: 'The God of our fathers has chosen you to know his will and to see the Righteous One and to hear words from his mouth. {15} You will be his witness to all men of what you have seen and heard. {16} And now what are you waiting for? Get up, be baptized and wash your sins away, calling on his name.' {17} "When I returned to Jerusalem and was praying at the temple, I fell into a trance {18} and saw the Lord speaking. 'Quick!' he said to me. 'Leave Jerusalem immediately, because they will not accept your testimony about me.' {19} "'Lord,' I replied, 'these men know that I went from one synagogue to another to imprison and beat those who believe in you. {20} And when the blood of your martyr Stephen was shed, I stood there giving my approval and guarding the clothes of those who were killing him.' {21} "Then the Lord said to me, 'Go; I will send you far away to the Gentiles.'"

Not only that, I've seen God work in my life and the lives of others. If you repent of your sins and accept Jesus as Savior and Lord, then as you mature as a Christian, God will change you into a better person. You can't change for the better by self-effort alone.

There have been some rare times during prayer when I felt God's answer in my mind to what I was praying about. Usually it was a scripture coming to mind that answered my question but not always. When my wife and I were first dating I prayed about what kind of dessert I could make for her. The words came into my mind: (sliced) apples, caramel sauce, pecans. I made it. She loved it.

Thank you for your response. Lengthy and thorough, I appreciate it!

I first became somewhat religious in school when a pastor came to explain all the stuff. I just accepted it as a kid because this authoritative figure told it to me, it must be true. But it didn't take long before I started to question most of the things in the bible and it's teachings. There are just so many contradictions in it.

Also, the example of the blind man regaining his sight, that just doesn't happen in modern times. But man is learning to do it with the use of modern science and medicine, implants and gene therapies and such. The god presented in the bible never shows it self. And I am to believe some ancient text that was written by normal men like you and me. Then there is the whole notion of religion being used to control people. If the church posses the power to forgive ones sins and thus grant a blissful afterlife, that would give them immens power. And we just have to look at history to see this is true and that they used this power to gather more and more land and wealth.

As for your personal experiences, I don't doubt you've had them.

I find the idea that to be without religion is to be without morals abhorrent.

But I find it more likely there is a better explanation for those. I too have seen kindness and wickedness in men. But to say these are caused by believe or disbelief in some divine entity is a stretch. Also I find the idea that to be without religion is to be without morals abhorrent. Not believing does not make one a bad or evil person.

How have you felt god's answer during prayer? Words like the desert coming to mind or some scripture could be just you thinking about it, and not some godhead infusing you with those thoughts. I consider the first option much more likely.

I would answer your valid questions you post here, but our contacts so far haven't been rewarding, so I will pass.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66134.08
ETH 3556.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13