ENTWINED- TLALOC reference #4 (original drawing)

in #god6 years ago

This version takes the reference image and starts to add form and depth. I started out by pencilling the reference image lightly but fairly accurately in blue pencil, taking in the details and patterns, and trying to see every little piece of visual information; bringing into all my brain, eyes, and hand, and by drawing it, trying connecting all three a little better. 

The pencil stage took about 30 minutes, as I continued to go a little darker and adding a bit more roundness, as I fleshed it out from a flat image and into more an actual character. 

I then followed my go-to procedure of using a 0.3 copic multi-liner pen to draw all the whole thing. Here I made final decisions on pencil marks that were not entirely resolved. 

This was followed by a few passes of ink washes, going from light to dark. Once that was dry I took to it with a mixture of 0.3, 0.5 and 0.8 pens, enforcing light source, depth and adding a contrast of value.

The finished thing. And below,  the reference image. I had this on the laptop screen and copied it onto Strathmore Bristol paper. Total time around 2 hours or so.

Thanks for checking my post out, let me know what you think. I'm always keen for fellow artistic feedback and critique.

Please visit my blog! http://www.storybordello.com/

Sort:  

You certainly added some nice depth to it!

lol sometimes I feel slightly intimidated when I read all this jargon from people that know what they're doing I've been doing arty stuff for years and still have no idea what I'm doing XD

I like how you adapted the headpiece and the posture slightly to make it look more like it's alive/moving/leaning :)

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61940.56
ETH 3421.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49