Portuguese Style Goat Cheese. "Queijo Fresco"

in #goatcheese7 years ago (edited)

I love home made fresh goat cheese. I usually have one or two queijo fresco for breakfast with toast everyday. My local supermarket sometimes runs out of goat milk and I am force to use whole milk instead of raw goat milk, not as good as goat milk but still good and cheaper to make. I usually make 3 gallons of milk worth of cheese for the week for me and my family. Here's my recipe using one gallon of milk (Raw Goat Milk or Whole Milk) to make 6 to 8 small cheeses.

20180204_151804.jpg

Ingredients:

1 Gallon of Milk (raw goat milk or whole milk)
3 tsp salt (I use table salt)
1 tsp (15 ml) liquid rennet

20180204_141123.jpg

Instructions:
Pour milk into a pot.
Turn the burner on Med.
Stir milk gently until it reaches a temperature of 86 degree.
Turn the burner off and add 1 table spoon liquid rennet.
Add 3 tables spoons of table salt.
Mix rennet and salt with wood spoon.
Cover and let it stand for about 60 to 90 minutes to coagulate.

After 60 or 90 minutes take a sharp knife and make a cross on the coagulated milk (should be like jello) let it stand little longer if needed. Do not stir or try to split the coagulated milk apart.

20180204_141134.jpg
20180204_143827.jpg

After the milk is coagulated (like jello) pour it into 5-qt. Stainless Steel Colander with the cheese cloth inside and let it drain for 30 minutes or so. I use small home made cheese forms so i don't let the milk get to coagulated so when i pour into the forms and takes shape of the form without have to press it to take the shape of the form. I fill the forms to the rim, after it drains over night i will have 1" or 1 1/2" tall cheese. My forms are 3" tall.

I use cookie sheet and cutting board to drain the cheeses slowly over night inside the fridge.

I hope you enjoy.

Thank You.!

20180205_153625.jpg

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations @northpole! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @northpole! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55