My 5K goal (30 Min or less)

in #goals7 years ago

New year, “new” resolutions? We all have a goal(s) we want to achieve each year, some harder than others. And so do I, however there’s this one particular goal, I just can`t achieve (completely).

![Runner.jpg]()
 According to runner’s world, my age grade score is 34.25% because my average time is 38 minutes and on the flipside, to get a full 100% I would need a time of 13:01. I`m not a professional runner nor an enthusiast, so I’ll take that with a grain of salt.

Steps undertaken to achieve my goal? Well previous years I have tried to improve via the Sprint-interval training program, which helped me but only marginally. Last year I chose the weight lifting\core-back strengthening path, focusing on squats, deadlifts, calve raises and leg presses. I do see overall results regarding my posture and core strength, but still struggle to get my time down. You`d think shaving off 8 minutes would not be that hard. 

So maybe running isn`t my thing, at least that’s what my results say. Last week, I was browsing amazon out of boredom (*read: window-shopping) and came across a book.

“BORN TO RUN by Christopher McDougall”. Bought that sucker and started reading it. Here he talks about his running experience and being injured quite often until he discovers a certain tribe of Indians with the ability to run hundreds of miles without rest of injury. He dives further in to scientifically analyzing the tribe and other successful long distance runners to discover their secrets. The author began to realize that running well wasn't about the sport itself, but rather a success that stemmed from a pure lifestyle. 

That being said, I do have a fairly “healthy” lifestyle. Who am I kidding? So the plan for the next few months is to cut back on junk food and sugar. I`ll keep you updated on my progress.


” Make friends with pain, and you`ll never be alone – Ken Chlouber” 


*Disclaimer: the guy in my thumbnail picture is not me, I wish it was though, dude looks buff AF. I got this picture for free at https://pixabay.com. *  

Sort:  

Still getting used to the editor , didn't quite turn out like i wanted to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59398.61
ETH 2510.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43