Always keep your goals in sight

in #goals7 years ago (edited)

night.jpg

Yesterday I was reading from one of the two books I ordered last week, and the author, Sir Ken Robinson was talking about something interesting, an exercise involving some images that describe what you like to do, more or less, that describe you and that describe your weekly activities, that you had to pick and put on a piece of paper, trying to arrange them in a way that would best describe your passions and interests.

One of the main reasons I believe he included this exercise in his book was because picking images that would represent what you do and asking you to write some text on them and arrange them in the order you like them most, would help you see your passion better and discover what you like doing.

After finishing I realized I was doing what the exercise asked me to do almost constantly, by watching videos, saving pins on Pinterest, images on my computer and reading articles about the things I was interested in doing and about my objectives or goals.

And that's something you should do as well. I know that each and every one of you have certain goals you'd love to accomplish, goals that can change your life or change you as a person. Some of you want to be famous, some of you want to be smart. Some want to have a lot of money and big houses while some just want a happy family.

No matter what you goals are, you should make a small effort and always remind yourself of the reason you're working, by searching for visual representations of those goals and do something with them.

For example, one thing I do almost every single day is go on Pinterest and look at what's new on my Feed. I spend 5 minutes more or less looking around and saving pins I find interesting. I just recently discovered I saved over 200 pins and images with computers and setups that I think are awesome and that I would love to have. I also saved over 300 pins and images featuring amazing art that I like and that I would love to be able to create.

Yesterday I realized that I was constantly reminding myself of my goals and motivating myself to keep working without even realizing. I was saving images with computers and setups because basically all the work I do right now is to get enough money so I can buy a pretty expensive and really good computer, to be able to work on any project I ever want without being limited by the specifications of my system.

I also love art and I am jealous whenever I see people who can draw and create amazing things using either a pen and a piece of paper, or a tablet and a computer. I always wanted to do something similar, but I never had any talent for drawing. Later in life I figured you don't need talent to draw, but a lot of practice. Sadly, it was too late for me, because I had so many things to do that I just didn't have time to practice on that thing as well. However, I decided not long ago that once I get my computer and once I can start working on whatever I want, I will also start practicing drawing so I can at least sketch interesting things.

I was constantly reminding myself of those two objectives I have using a website, to keep myself motivated and to make sure my goals are clear. That helped me never forget why I'm working and why I want to have a financially secure life so I can focus on those kind of things that I so much like.

And I strongly believe you should start doing the same thing. You can use whatever platform you want, or you can use real things, like books and magazines, but I think you should constantly remind yourself of your goals as well, and try to find visual representations of the things you want.

It doesn't matter what it is. If you want to buy a car in the future, spend time reading articles about that topic and look at images with cars from time to time. If you want to learn how to code, read about people who code and start looking at videos with people coding games or software really fast, in order to motivate yourself and see others do what you want to do as well.

It's all about constantly reminding yourself of your goals and dreams, in order to make sure you don't forget about them and quit when things get pretty hard. For example, I constantly check the price of Steem, every day, in order to see if it grows so I can get some money out of my work.

It's more than often pretty disappointing to see that the price of Steem isn't at $10 or $100, and I need to wait more and more for it to go up. However, constantly reminding myself why I'm working and what my objective is motivates me to just wait and put in the work, until I can finally harvest the results I desire.

Using this method could help you motivate yourself as well and work harder for the things you want. It can take you only a few minutes every single day and it can give you a lot of inspiration and motivation for a long time. So, if you have some free time, try investing it into reading about what you love and finding visual representations of it. It may help you more than you expect.

Sort:  

I love art too but have no talent for visual arts... but i love to surround myself with lovely things, whether it is a simple poster or a child's drawing, it's all meaningful and rewarding.

Yes, you can always find little parts of yourself in art, and contemplate them imagining how your life would be if you would be part of the art around you. Thanks for the comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44