You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drawing a Steady Income from Steem...When? (Plus my Journey Here)

in #goals7 years ago

I consider myself a heavy traveler. Last year I have visited 13 countries and countless cities while having a 09:00 - 18:00 office job, developing software.

This job makes those trips possible. However, at some point, I would like to get a passive income like you and just work on what I want to work. (Blockchain, steem related projects, non-profit organizations, etc.)

I have already some examples which you can basicly work remote and travel at the same time on our industry. While this is also possible, I find it hard to do managing it.

Thanks for the inspring post. :)

Sort:  

Damn, 13 countries in one year while having a 9 - 18 office job? That's pretty impressive. How did you manage to do that? How long were your trips?

Flights

I am an early bird for buying tickets. I always get cheap prices with low-cost airlines. I also have a good credit card (reward program) with that airline, basically 3-4 flights in a year are free for me.

Hotels

I am in the tourism industry, working intensively with other B2B hotel providers. That gives an extra to get cheap deals or compensational stays.

Time

I don't have huge vacations. I use my day-offs on Fridays or Mondays which gives me 3 days of travel time. Generally moving around Europe, so flight times allow me to do that.

If the flight time bigger than ~4 hours, then I will stay in that country longer. Spending a huge portion of my yearly vacation is not sustainable so that's one or two in a year. Lately, I have been in Thailand and it was 9 days.

Other expenses

  • I don't eat at luxury restaurants. (Exceptions: cheap countries like Ukraine, Hungary etc.) Even I buy sandwiches from supermarkets on lunch.

  • I don't pay anything to museums. Not really a cultural guy, therefore, I don't spend any time or money on museums.

  • I walk! I never use taxis. (If it's not a business trip and can't expense it.) If I can't go where I headed on foot, I prefer subways, buses. Also, in some countries (Netherlands for example) I rent bicycles to move around.

Everyone can do these things actually. You just need to follow promotions and give up luxury. :)

For some reason a 9-18 job sounds much worse than a 9-6 job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70