The Magic New Year’s Notebook

in #goals8 years ago (edited)

By writing my New Year’s Resolutions in a small pocket notebook, many of them magically get done. This strange phenomenon has intrigued friends and family for years.
Ganesh Statue

"Regular" goals

Goal-setting is a valuable practice, and something about New Year’s Resolutions a lot of fun simply because there’s a clear structure. Once a year, you make a list of things you want to accomplish in the coming year, and then, you have a whole year to get them done. More often than not, you forget them.

About 5 years ago I got a small pocket notebook and have been in the habit of keeping it in my back pocket all day. When I need to remember something, I’ll whip out the notebook and jot it down. It’s also been my custom to write a long list of resolutions (~19) each year, outlining major goals for the coming year. Some examples:

  1. Make $200,000 in investment accounts
  2. Meditating 15mins/day
  3. Put a down payment on a home
  4. Take sailing lessons
  5. Complete a triathlon
  6. Start a business
  7. Write & publish a book
    etc…

Keep in mind that I’m the type of person who’s not bothered when I don’t achieve a goal. I enjoy setting goals, even just to imagine how life could be better. I love having something to shoot for. Although I start off very motivated and refer to this list daily the first few days, it never lasts past mid-January. Why do I keep writing them?
notebook writing

Write it and forget it

When I pick up my notebook each year, I get the chance to leaf through last year’s list. What I expect to be a nostalgic giggle over last year me’s naiveté turns into surprise after realizing that I achieved over half of them.

What witchcraft is this? They didn’t just materialize in early January; however, the efforts during that time built up enough momentum for me to achieve half of what I’d set out to do without even realizing it. These successes came throughout the year, even in December (long after I’d forgotten about the list).

Thanks to my pocket notebook, I learned how powerful New Year’s Resolutions really are.

Stretch goals

Common wisdom dictates that goals should stretch you as a person, and you should be achieving about half of the goals you set. If you achieve less, your goals are too ambitious; more, and they’re not ambitious enough. Some people laugh at some of the resolutions I make because of how unrealistic they seem. I laugh right back, because if your goals are realistic, you’re not aiming high enough!

"You are the masterpiece of your own life; you are the Michelangelo of your own life. The David you are sculpting is you." - Joe Vitale

Michelangelo statue Moses
Here’s hoping that your life this year will be the best yet :) keep setting those goals, and shoot for the stars! Aim as high as you can imagine without worrying about if it’s possible or realistic. All you need to think about is: what do I really want? Imagine how your life would be, and if you like how that feels, then set that goal. That’s how we grow.

References:


Thank you for reading! If you've enjoyed this article, follow me at @avantmidi

Follow Avant Midi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66