Nordic Go Championship, Day 3, Final Results

in #go5 years ago (edited)

Today saw the final two rounds. I was paired with a 2 kyu who had done really well in his initial group. I won that game despite a few slip ups.

IMG_0810.JPG

I'm white here.

IMG_0811.JPG

This one was against a 4 dan who had not done well in the tournament, either. I lost it.

My personal result was a 2/6 where my opponents (result + or -) were: 5d- 2d+ 3d- 3d- 2k+ 4d-. My conclusion is that I need to install a bot on my computer and study opening patterns using it.

IMG_0812.JPG

This is version 1 of the infamous Ing clock. Ing Chang-ki was a very wealthy Taiwanese industrialist who sponsored go and promoted his own variant of the rules (different rules make a very small difference in rare situations). He donated a large number of special equipment needed in counting the result (there had to be exactly 180+181 stones in set for the result to be counted right under Ing rules). That version would beep very loudly and adjusting the volume was impossible. Version 2 would count seconds as time was running out in English or Chinese. It was horrible in many people's opinion.

The Nordic Go Championship of 2019 was won by Javier-Aleksi Savolainen, 5 dan. There were two players at five wins out of six games. The primary tie-breaker (sum of opponents' scores) was even in which case the secondary one (sum of sum of opponents' scores) had to be used. Javier-Aleksis' won. The prize money was split between the two despite a difference in tie-breakers.

The results are on Suomigo-wiki.

Sort:  

I used to play Go when I was a teenager in Romania. I learned English reading xero-copied versions of Sakata Eio and Haruyama Isamu. This was 35 years ago in Ceausescu's Romania ...
Have barely played since ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Most interesting. I have read that book, too. I think I borrowed a copy from a friend.

Can’t play Go! Would love to learn this game too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @markkujantunen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.768 which ranks you at #4836 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 199 places in the last three days (old rank 4637).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 210 contributions, your post is ranked at #95.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79