Saarto - Antti vs. Markku

in #go6 years ago (edited)


Antti, 1 dan, is playing black and Markku, 3 dan, is playing white. Played at Salpauksen Saarto Go Club meeting in Lahti, Finland on the 18th of April 2018.

This video was shot with @gamer00's phone because mine did not fit into the small camera stand used. He sent me the file for me to publish.

The game was otherwise fine but Antti (black) made a blunder at 8:26 by not playing a proper connecting shape. The black group on the upper side died as a result of having fewer than two eyes and being cut off. Antti put up a heroic fight to make up for that loss by making a large territorial framework on the lower side and hoped to turn it into territory but it was a long shot and did not work. We play with a one-stone handicap (no handicap stones but white does not receive komi) instead of the two that would match our rank difference.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice game, well, up until 8:26 really ;)

I actually think it started getting fishy for black after the tobi at 6:12. This really weakened the top right black group for no real prospect. Instead of playing the tobi, I am thinking trying to force white out of the corner while making profit and then treat the two top black groups lightly might have worked better for black.

You're right. The white group at the top was in no trouble whereas the white corner was in need of reinforcement which the black tobi gave white an opportunity to do.

By the way, I love being able to upload and discuss a go game an get paid for it without engaging any negotiations as to how to monetize it. This brilliant.

Absolutely! A steem-powered go server would be totally awesome ;)

It's like a live broadcast of the game :-)
Seriously I think this the third game I have seen on your posts and they all have been very enjoyable

Wow. How do you know this game? I'm from south korea. It is called the baduk! Even we have a Baduk academy in the country. HAHAHA.

I read about it in a newspaper in Finland 26 years ago. A friend of mine and I started to play using a makeshift board and stones. It turned out there was a go club in Tampere where I lived. The first go club in Finland was founded in Helsinki in 1979.

Yes, there is a professional organization in South Korea. Also, Myongji University has a Baduk Studies department. They sent us visitors ten years ago.

It has always caught the attention of this game but I have not investigated yet how to play. One day I thought about downloading it to my phone like many other games, for example I have Ruby 3D Cube, emulators of Nes, Snes, N64, Play1 plus some android and I recently downloaded Telesketch for android but this last one I have not played yet. Another thing that I regret is not being able to see your video because I have limited connection. I will try my best to see it. Greetings!

A question to anybody reading this. Do you know any go players on Steemit? The list of go players that I know is very short:

@markkujantunen (Finland)
@gamer00 (Finland)
@wllmdnnd (Japan?)

I think I once read that our friend @krenter plays it.

Really very nice game
Thanks for sharing

What a great game

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55