A unusual introduction to a culture

in #global5 years ago (edited)

How would you feel if you arrive in a foreign country and the first event you attempt is a funeral? Well, that is what happened to me. During my first week in Rwanda, I was confronted with a new culture and new values and behaviours. Moreover, the peak of that cultural experience in this first week was the invitation I received to a funereal even though I never met the young man who died personally. For me, it was very surprising because it is such an intimate occasion, where only family and close friends take part in. But out of politeness and curiosity of how a funeral would look like in a different culture, I accepted the invitation and 2 days after I left with some other Marriott associates to the funeral which started at a church in a rural area. The church was small and filled with more than 100 people. I was standing in the afternoon sun outside with some others and observed the ceremony from there. I didn’t want to take any space for someone who really new the person. What I first observed and compared to my culture, was the clothing. Everyone was wearing what they preferred. No dress code, colour full dresses, black suits, some more elegant some less, which at the end I realized didn’t matter at all. Even though the family members and some associates never saw me before, they treated me as one of its friends and gave me a real feeling to be part of the ceremony by thanking me for coming and appreciating my presence. The atmosphere of the funeral was obviously sad, but many times I heard people laughing and enjoying the company. Nothing was faked, everything was so natural, everyone was just them self and if they wanted to laugh, they laughed if they wanted to cry they cried and nobody was judging anyone which made this experience very unique and special to me. Rwandans are very family oriented and have a close connection to nature. Things go as they come and for every problem, there is a solution. After arriving at the cemetery to proceed with the barrier, the family realized that the hole was too small for the coffin. I first thought that this happens on a regular basis what was not the case. The simple and fast reaction to that problem was found. They organized a saw and adjusted the coffin to the hole as the hole was filled with cement and there was no chance to enlarge the hole. Almost every family member was upset about that, but in the end, they were happy to be able to barrier their young family member in a peaceful way. I don’t know what would have happened in my country but I know for sure that the situation would not be so calm and relaxed.    

Sort:  

Congratulations @alainnka! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72