My $35,000 Exodus Glitch That FML’d My Life.

in #glitch7 years ago (edited)

I woke up Sunday Morning to 5.1 BTC in my wallet that did not exist. The Dirty Details!


So get this, I woke up on Sunday and as always log into various exchanges to check on my bets. I knew I had to shift funds around, which is really expensive these days if you're moving BTC but that’s what needed shifting. I sent some BTC to my Exodus wallet so I could, then again, send it to a different exchange. I always give my crypto funds this ”layover” in one of my wallets.

Well on Sunday it was taking an unusually long time so I hit the Rescan button, went out to buy some cat food and feed the strays on my way home. Got back about 40 mins later, maybe less. I saw my Exodus told me I had 5.1 BTC!! I was baffled so I hit rescan again, I reloaded the APP and crossed my fingers it was real. Like some BTC type of glitch you read about in the good news section of the daily paper. Bank Error in my favour was running through my mind.

I figured it was a mistake. There was no history of 5+ BTC being deposited into my wallet; it was just there. Weird! So like any honest bloke I started sending it to other places to ensure I had control of those funds. It was a lot, I mean 35K US would solve many of my financial goals. Like paying my dev’s and a lawyer for my token creation goals. Rescanned and reloaded it several times over the next couple hours. I tried exchanging some of it for Dash.

The wallet kept saying it was going through and as my heart raced waiting for it to arrive in the places I had sent it to I was literally hesitant it would go through. Finally, my Exodus wallet said they were happening and please wait for it to complete. Again I want to stress that I realized from the start there was no record of so much arriving into wallet or where it came from, it was just there.

Even after my send transactions arrived in their desired locations a much smaller amount actually arrived, like a considerable amount less, I still held hope my Exodus wallet was the true source of info.

Well, after a few hours it was clear it was a glitch which I suspected, good thing I didn’t quit my job. Everything suddenly reverted to what it was suppose to be, 50 X less then what I was dealing with. It was a lot more than that but you’ll have to do the math from my screen shots.

Do be cautious with Exodus, it has glitches, serious glitches

FML Could Be Worse

(All Images straight up google snags.)

Sort:  

I am very motivated with your writing this, thanks for share your
experience..

motivated to do what?

caught it. "less then" should be "less than". 😎

sad.... that's what you got from this.

Well, I know you could be 30K richer but what's not yours is not yours .
Better buy some lottery instead

I like your posts so much! Why nit pick grammar so much?!

Dont answer... i drank a lot whisky tonight. Like more than a pint of scotch. Do wish the sky was clearer.

Just so I can proof I still have eyes to pick on things.
haha. have a good night. the whisky will help

regardless of GRAMMAR the intention you missed.

i'm reminded why i don't focus on Steemit any more...
so glad im not a steem addict anymore.

Watching Steem Crash....

OMG, you should be buying slowing and wait for April and May :-)

i still like you Ace108. but sometimes we need to read more than grammar.

Steemit is a journal of my life. Grammar or not!

do you know the real, true reason why Steemit changed its logo?

excellent post ..loving to your blog.thanks for sharing..

To have this amount to appear without doing anything should be a great pleasure ;)

it was until it was rectified . lol

Congratulations @solarguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72