Bitcoin is the lifeboat when hurricanes make landfall

in #gjdkhls2 years ago

Bitcoin maximalism is considered by many to be a toxic trait, a brand of culture war led by veteran holders, OGs and whales who will do anything to pump up their bags. In this short piece, I explain how this couldn't be further from the truth. I cover my journey to excellence and how Bitcoin has taught me to HODL through adversity, realign my aspirations and narrow my time preferences. Finally, I would say that Bitcoin is a beacon, not just for OGs, venture capitalists, CEOs and all those other rich acronyms, but for the poor, tired and stuck masses.

2017 was a big year for Bitcoin. It was also a big year for Puerto Rico, where I was lucky enough to be born and raised. September brought two Category 5 hurricanes to the island, just two weeks apart from each other. First, Hurricane Irma narrowly missed direct landfall. Despite the near-misses, the sheer size and intensity of the storm still managed to damage infrastructure, claim lives and leave millions without power. Then Maria came. In a touch of irony, my power was restored 24 hours before Hurricane Maria made landfall, so I barely had time to charge my devices. Little did I know, I wouldn't be able to do it for the next five months.

Sort:  

Hello friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70