The best attribute of the Steem Virus - the ability to givesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #givingsteem8 years ago (edited)

Steem has a magnificent multitude of compelling attributes but the one I wanted to post about is it's ability to give real value to others as either a reward or an act of charity. It's so easy and it's highly addictive because, you know what, it feels really really good.

At current price levels, depending on when I vote and with my voting power at around 80%, i can give someone a dollar or two for something I think is worthwhile. That might not seem like much, but it seems huge to me and is such a buzz.

If you want to check out your stats and voting power, visit Steem Whales, enter your account name in the 'search rankings' field. For further information, select your name and then select your steemd link.

I wonder what my total rewards allocated will be in two years or by the end of my life? What will those rewards have mean't to all those people, organisations and communities? What will they have done with them? I want to do it more, with more and boy does it make me value and cherish my Steem Power. I would like to be able to award even more, not because I think my subjective view of what is worthwhile is better than anyone else's, but because I enjoy it and I cherish the ability to have my say in how society works, what we build and how we behave towards each other, in a meaningful way. Understandably, the main focus in Steemit has been about getting rewards with the whales under enormous pressure to redistribute Steem rapidly and to reduce their stake. Casualties aside, in general the Steem community's demand for SP seems very high and that's no surprise when you consider it's only once you have the SP that the true magic can really begin...the giving.

We don't vote in this world with our feet, or our hands, we vote with our money. Allowing it's theft is tantamount to giving away our voice and when our voices are not heard......well look at the world.

The majority of Steem (steemit or busy) accounts have not yet experienced this incredible power to reward. When Steem is more widely distributed and the Steem price increases, I honestly believe this ability to give out rewards as an act of recognition, charity, friendship and support will unleash the true revolution in the social media economy we are trying to build. This is Steem's Super Power.

It is estimated that approximately $500 Billion is donated to charity annually with two thirds of that coming from the US alone. There can be no doubt that the vast majority of people on this planet are good and generous. We overwhelmingly want to help each other. Steem not only provides the means to harness this drive but also improves it's efficiency and folds the instinct to give into a far stronger, balanced and ultimately purer form of capital allocation. There is no limit to the kinds of activity that Steem can be used to reward. Conversely, there is no limit to the kinds of activity that will struggle for funding....

...for instance, when we pay our taxes for roads and schools, whose money is it that pays for those depleted uranium shells that aren't supposed to be used becuase they are toxic to humans and a crime against humanity? Is it mine? Yours?

Giving Steem at any level has value, but the more meaningful it becomes, the more SP we'll want, the more we'll want to participate and the more we'll cherish our Steem Power. That is one of the most potent and viral aspects to this Steem technology, network, economy, blockchain and, most importantly, community.


Happy Steeming

Sort:  

And just gave you 100% of me and my Streemian trail @benjojo

I never expected so much wonderful feedback off this post even though I felt it was important in my gut! Thank you

Yeah man you spread positive vibes and this is great. I remember times on Steem when i had like 30% of SP i have now and i could give person 1 USD with 1 click.. Which is like 1 beer in many countries.

Now i have way more, i have trail following my upvotes with witnesses and... i give just cents as a total!

First, I want to let you know that your choice of the STEEM logo on the inside of a snow cave, if not a glacier, is pretty darn cool!

I have to agree with you, the levels at which one can share Steem on this platform and its ease of use makes it a very powerful tool for social change on all levels. Over the course of the last many months, I have had the opportunity of witnessing some of its powers. It is so inspiring and gives hope to our world. Thank you for sharing this information with us all. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Thank you so much. It's actually looking down at the sea at the foot of a glacier. The image was sourced from https://unsplash.com/@adamjang. There are an incredible array of beautiful images and they are all completely free to use!

I totally agree with you, it gives us hope. All for one and one for all....I like that!

It looked like a shot taken from inside the melting glacier entrance shooting toward the exit of it! Nice!!! Thanks for the information and kind words. Namaste :)

this is sweetness. giving feels good. now i have seen you an @kus-knee, @papa-pepper consciously doing this and i mention them. i am also one who wants to give so so badly. it is sweetness when giving can be a tiny as an upvote. i am novice but it is so easy to see where this steem technology is going, even for me and how it will win is by means of you all who still maintain measures of love in your hearts in the midst of a cruel world. i fall in the category of people who want to give everything but have helplessly watched for years cos i dont have the means but i do have time for now and if time is money, i give loads of it freely but i will definitely give. i have given! if the steem model is "mine your stake or steem power with your mind, to have influence in its different forms, be it love etc and their great minds on steemit"; isnt that a genius model, a never-ending one?
thank you for your upvotes and lemme how you meant here; "I wonder what my total rewards allocated will be in two years or by the end of my life?" i didn't understand the 2 years and end of life part; well, are you just giving an example?

You really get it. That makes me so happy, thank you so much for the comment. It was an absolute pleasure to read.

In answer to your question, I just mean't I wonder how many dollars worth of rewards I will have allocated in two years or over my whole lifetime and what that will have mean't to in the end? What will it mean when all of us are doing that? I hope it means that we end up living better lives in a better world with a great deal more love and fulfillment.

hi benjojo, how can i reach out to you in a short conversation, i want to discuss a tiny initiative that i will like to do and i am want to tell you about it, perhaps, you'll want to support it

I've just responded to you in chat :) let's chat!

hahaha, i am there now!

That is one of the most potent and viral aspects to this Steem technology, network, economy, blockchain and, most importantly, community.

Great post! I wish more steemians would understand that and stop focusing so much on curation rewards, I guess we can't blame them as they havn't been given the opportunity to try the things you are talking about. Many think the whole point of this site is to run bots and rack up pennies every day, when the real deal is in front of their face ready to blow up as soon as power concentration is solved.

Thank you snowflake. Yes, it's like not seeing the wood for the trees. Engagement (curation) beyond posting content and rewards is valuable but it will happen anyway if the content is good enough. People want to connect like breathing (which is a valuable activity....no need to pay anyone to do it though.) For the majority of accounts, curation rewards are meaningless, likes on comments wouldn't be though. Presently we get the bad with hardly any good. Let's KISS curation rewards goodbye and focus on Steem's Super Power ;)

Great blog my friend, i totally agree that steemit will revolutionize charity, i mean like you said "the vast majority of people on this planet are good and generous" steemit will offer them a chance to give away in a second by simple click not only by donating money but even by a free vote, that will make charity easy, fast and more joyeful.
Thnx for the blog @benjojo

Absolutely. My pleasure bud.

Very interesting thinking about the psychological effects of steem usage. Maybe in the future there will be studies that confirm that steem users become more and more generous in their everday lives :D

Indeed, hopefully there will! If the natural state for most people is to do no harm, to share, to give, once they have enough themselves, the barriers that separate us are removed and there is less corruption to worry about and compete with, I really do wonder what the character of humanity will be. Our present circumstances don't appear to get the best out of us or to show us in the best light....but then there is a massive disparity of influence to consider. Our combined psychology many not be as pathological as it appears. Perhaps we simply need a chance.

Sorry for answering so late. I think you are very right there. Once you give a person the possibility to do good in an easy manner it will be done. We "just" have to set up a system that enables people to be rewarded more for giving than for competing. Ethereum will bring a lot of these possibilies in the form of dapps to this world. I am optimistic that we will see a change, although I don't know how it will look like exactly. And that is the interesting part for me.

No worries :) I agree that there are a lot of exciting possibilities and what will come out of them is very interesting!

Voted!
You've got yourself one more follower.
"What will those rewards have mean't to all those people, organisations and communities?" I love this.

This is why I was so excited to join the community in the first place. It's a Win-Win. Give/Receive. Cut out a ton of unnessecary middlemen and (decentralize) and automate the infrastructure AND the payment system/distribution. It's great.

I should probably check and make sure this isn't breaking any ettiquette, but since I just posted this piece on giving/the psychology & science behind it, if you want to check it out you can: Respect https://steemit.com/psychology/@adamthor/the-gift-of-giving

Thank you very much and thank you for the link.....I'll check it out. You certainly haven't broken any etiquette because your post is complementary to mine. Your comment and link enriches my post in my opinion!

hi papa-pepper, how can i reach out to you in a short conversation, i want to discuss a tiny initiative that i will like to do and i am thinking you want to support it

Awesome post as usual. It's cool to see it has inspired a lot of people.

Thank you teamsteem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83