Giving is receiving part 2

in #giving6 years ago

Giving is receiving Part 2

Luke 16:15

And He said to them, “You are those who justify yourselves before men, but God knows your hearts. For what is highly esteemed among men is an abomination in the sight of God.

One Sunday morning our pastor stated he wanted to give all cash offerings to a particular cause; sounded good to me so I found all the cash I had on me ($15) and prepared to put it along with my regular offering in the offering plate.
I asked my wife if she was going to add any cash to help the cause. She replied “I only have a dollar”. I think in her estimation a dollar would be such an insignificant amount she would not bother and it would not help -and she might have even been somewhat embarrassed placing just a dollar in the offering plate.

Mark 12: 41-44
41 Now Jesus sat opposite the treasury and saw how the people put money into the treasury. And many who were rich put in much. 42 Then one poor widow came and threw in two mites, which make a quadrans. 43 So He called His disciples to Himself and said to them, “Assuredly, I say to you that this poor widow has put in more than all those who have given to the treasury; 44 for they all put in out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all that she had, her whole livelihood.” Now I’m not implying my wife does not have a good heart, because she certainly does, but she misunderstood the act of giving for this purpose, and the blessings, even a small amount would bring her, (and the cause) because God knows the heart and the intentions of the heart.

We should also be reminded of the boy with the fish and loaves, I think it apropos.

John 6:9

“There is a lad here who has five barley loaves and two small fish, but what are they among so many?” …11 "And Jesus took the loaves, and when He had given thanks He distributed them to the disciples, and the disciples to those sitting down; and likewise of the fish, as much as they wanted. 12 So when they were filled…" Even a dollar (or two mites) can bless many, and even the giver!

As I explained to my wife later, God can bless that dollar and make it multiply for a big blessing. I truly believe this. Again, Giving is receiving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81