Thoughts on gifts and giving

in #giving5 years ago

Today I've been pretty much spending a good part of the morning which was not a lot as I woke up late, doing some preparations for my Dad birthday. He has been in the Boy Scouts movement since he was about 10 years old and he will be 60 in next weekend on Sunday to be precise. His will was to go camping as for celebration and some things got in the middle and made the actual camping harder to achieve but that does not mean we will not at least try. Anyway I was pretty happy to help and the camping site will be my backyard small but still fun thing to do.
So one of the things I was pretty happy to help with was getting enough dry wood for a camp fire that will be done in my pit fire for security reason but we will have marshmallows anyways. So I went to visit a place where I knew the owner was going to be more than glad to let me get some branches out of his garden and proceed to cut them enough to fit in my car.
IMG_20181125_104326.jpgThis is the place where I took few fallen branches for wood to use in the campfire.
So I had to cut them each to have a decent size to fit in the car.
IMG_20181125_104632.jpg
This is another great opportunity to use a hand saw for wood that I bought maybe a year ago so I actually enjoyed the process and spend a good amount of energy doing that and then I feel like I've exercise a bit.
IMG-20181125-WA0010.jpeg
I place the wood pieces in this sack to reduce the debris in the car and then easily grab it up and down
Anyway I'm just trying to get to my point which sometimes it is really hard too get to, but my idea of a gift could be something that is inexpensive on others eye but you have put some effort to do and enjoy doing it for your loved one. It was not even close to be a chore or something I did not wanted to do because I love my dad and I cannot even imagine his face and reaction when I probably will lit the fire and get started with all joy. Of course I have a present for him but I'm sure hew ill enjoy the fire more than any other material gift I could probably do and I know he is know enjoying the fact that wood is ready and we are just preparing everything for his celebration. Sometimes and I say this in my personal opinion, I've received gift that no matter the money value they might represent lack of the feeling and meaning some other things might do. If you ever happen to visit Costa Rica specially in the rural areas where people might actually make good use of presents they do not spare a second to give away the few things they have because they truly enjoy the happiness of giving and with that they live a very happy life. You might have heard that couple years ago Costa Rica was top ranked in the happiness index, nature sure comes to play but my guess is that all this kind of things what makes people live happily, you won't believe how happy some elder people are just by sharing a coffee and some afternoon talk with you and for them that is the best gift or present you can offer them. Sometimes we live so fast worrying about things like #STEEM price, #BTC price, work, life, loans, payments etc etc , that we forget to live and enjoy every little gift that might cost nothing to enjoy or give but we are just to busy to enjoy.


@raserrano - Developer

kedjom-keku.jpg
@kedjom-kekuConservation Association
KK-icon-plant-tree-Green-outline.png
@treeplanterFund-raising upvoting bot
FFF-logo-bw.png
@forestfriendlyWater Saving bees

pal-sig-anim-trans

Sort:  

Awe.....so nice to help celebrate with your Dad! :)

I will keep you posted on the planning and will send you some pictures of the actual camping site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88