You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DailyMastermind 48 | GIVEAWAY 5 SBD FOR THE BEST IDEA TO IMPROVE DTUBE

in #giveaway7 years ago

There some points where DTube could improve:

  • Better streaming quality, which involves improving cloud services since some videos stutter ( but I think it's pretty expensive)
  • A better algorithm to show you more related videos
  • More quality options for the video ( ATM there are only 2 options for me: 480p and source)
Sort:  

I agree with @fujiwara that "Better streaming" should be addressed, by my concern is more with "speed" than with "quality." My experience thus far is that @dtube is virtually UNUSABLE because of slow steaming/buffering problems, and I know many Steemians who agree.

Granted, my Internet connection is not fast, but other streaming services (Vimeo, Vevo, YouTube, Soundcloud, Bandcamp, etc.) seldom pose a problem for me. However, Dtube always loads slowly, on a consistent, predictable basis. As an example, a music video recently took 40 minutes to load ONE-minute of the 4-minute video, after which I gave up. Your video last night was buffering even more slowly, at a rate of one-second-of-video loading every one-minute-of-waiting.

I am aware that where I live (eastern US) has much slower Internet than Korea, Malaysia, Indonesia, and many other places in the world. But if streaming cannot be improved so the site becomes usable for everyone, as is Vimeo/Vevo/Youtube/etc., what good is it?

@fujiwara you have a point in that it might be much more expensive to improve the streaming quality. Perhaps, @dtube has more important priorities right now compared to this (I am not sure myself). HD options would be great too since most users are accustomed to the HD video quality on Youtube, Twitch etc.

I believe that the related videos currently displayed on your DTube UI is dependent on the accounts that you've followed. Personally, I only see videos from users that I've followed but not because it's relevant to the video that I'm currently watching. If @dtube can build a system that displays relevant videos to the ones users are currently watching, this can help to create more exposure for dtubers whilst keeping users engaged on the platform for a longer duration.

I have a pretty beefy Internet connection where I live and I'm experiencing the same things, videos aren't watchable when selecting the source option as they stutter way too much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53