1000 followers (almost) GIVEAWAY!!!

in #giveaway6 years ago

1000 followers GIVEAWAY!!!

This is actually for my Instagram page, but I'm getting really close to 1K here on Steemit so why not include you guys also

To show my sincere appreciation for your support I am giving away this nice little knife (12c27 steel)!
IMG_20180804_162530.jpg

You really make me try harder to make my knives better with each new build.
So, to clients - current, past and future, to fellows knifemakers, to cooks, to friends & family, to civilians who just like my knives for no particular reason, to lurkers, and even to pakimascus sellers...

THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART!!!

Rules: just comment on this post and you are in. Tagging friends and reposting is appreciated but not needed. The list closes next Sunday.

Oh, and since the knife is not finished the winner will be given a chance to choose the finish and the handle materials.

https://www.instagram.com/docsmithknives/

Sort:  

howdy there @docsmith! congratulations on your soon to be 1000 followers and that looks like an excellent quality knife!

Thank you, hopefully it will serve someone for a long time.
Oh, and good luck!

howdy sir @docsmith! yes sir that knife is a life-time tool I can tell. How long have you been making knives and do you make money with them?

Thank you.
I've been making knives for about three years now, and while I do sell thme I wouldn't go so far to say I'm making money 😂

Then again I don't do this for money so if I come out even on the average that's good enough for me

howdy there @docsmith! well so it's a labor of love it sounds like, well it's a pretty interesting one! how did you get into that, I mean you just like knives so you started making them?

Yep it's mostly for the love of the craft and the peace of my mind
as for how I've started - it's a bit of a long tale and I'm at the beach on my phone so I will have to refer you to my intro post

ha! great intro post sir docsmith! very interesting story so far. But you can't be working where you are and be lazy anymore right? and the knives look like supreme quality!

Oh, I'm lazy all right 😉
The thing about being lazy is that you can get away with it if you're smart, and since i have on good authority that I am...

Let's give it a go! I am a great lover of good hand craft. And yours for sure stands for high quality!

Thanks.
You're in - good luck :)

I'm in! I'd like a handcrafted knife to add to my collection of things!

And congrats on reaching that 1k mark, it's no easy task both here on Steemit and on Instagram.

Oh and that picture is creepy, with the latex glove and knife holding going on. It looks like you're about to do something criminal. :P

It all depends on what my goal is - if I wanted to show I have the means to do it and the brains to do it and not getting caught - then it's not creepy it's informative ;)

Okay, since I've already been commenting with a couple others here, I think I probably should go ahead and properly comment on your post. I'm not doing this for the knife, but just to say to everyone else, I think you do great work from all of what you've posted and that it will make a great addition to anyone's home/collection/worth if they win it. Just not me. That leaves me free to sing the praises.

Okay, good luck @docsmith with this contest. I hope it goes really well.

Thanks Glen,
Seems to me your flowers are more into knives then mine :)
So thanks for spreading the word and I hope one of "your guys" geys lucky

P. S. Also, I'm on my phone so it's kinda hard to follow the tread in comments, since this app sucks. An apology if I've missed anything - I'll have a reread as soon as I get on my PC

Oh, I doubt you're missing anything. I think the knife talk on one of the comment threads ended up elsewhere, anyway. Still, that would be great if themanwithnoname won it. Bashadow says they don't need another one, so it's probably best it go elsewhere, anyway.

a small donation would probably go a long way ;)

Was that small enough? :) I mean, I guess I could go smaller.

It won't hurt 😂

Cool, i have never had a handmade knife, I am in and thanks!

Well, wish you all the luck and thanks for your support.

Thanks @docsmith for your generosity and for all the support you have given us - and thanks for the resteems

Hope you achieve this

I don't think you get it...

Maybe the person is trying to say that "a man can't truly choose a knife, that the knife chooses the man." Therefore, maybe they are wishing you luck in capturing the heart of the knife so that it chooses you... or they're spamming. Either one. ;)

That's a good-looking blade. The knife is going to have a full tang, so it will be strong too! Thanks @glenalbrethsen for resteeming this.

I figured someone might like to see this. I think @docsmith does great work and anyone who gets this will be very happy with it. (No pressure). I avoided the comment this time to keep from being entered, just because I think I wouldn't get as much use out of it as others would. It really should go to someone who has the use and the appreciation for it. Someone like you, perhaps? :)

Oh, I would love a knife like this. The fact that he's making it means it would be so much more meaningful. I could use it to unbox my silver! Ha ha.

I'll bet you could find a use for it. When you get something really awesome like that, you make ways to use it. :)

If I lived at home with my parents I could throw it at the stump they have in the front yard. Sadly, we have no such stump, and I doubt the folks I live with would like to be turned into moving targets. Yeah, I think it's safer someone else get it. :)

Hmmm, in most places you can get a big round of wood from a tree that has been cut down. You could get one or two of those and set them up to throw at!

Okay, well if you insist. Maybe I could give the boards to my family members and have them use it as a shield? :) I know I should stop before I get myself into trouble (especially since I would never do this), but I'm finding it kind of humorous right now. :)

I don't know how many family members you will find willing to hold boards while you throw a knife at it. I'm glad you find it humorous! I'm also glad that you know better than to attempt such a thing. :)

Oh, I wasn't much of a juvenile, let alone a delinquent growing up. However, I suppose it is possible to hit the spots I missed when I was young, like picking up an appreciate for harder rock music. This after I went through an easy listening phase my senior year of high school. Anyway, knives!

Thanks, yea it's a full tang and quite thick (4mm),so it should be a good tool.
Ang good luck!

A pre congrats on your account growth. Like Glen not super into knives, so count me out. That being said it was interesting, I like many people,(those of us in the thats cool kind of thing to know), know about 440c steel, and damascus steel, but not a lot about other steels used, flock followers until we see a new thing, then we have to learn about it. So it was fun looking and researching 12c27 steel. Thanks for this resteem Glen.

Thanks, i mostly work with high carbon steels ao thia one is a bit unusual for me. But it's a nice stainless steel that's kinda easy to heat treat. Plus I got it as a gift so it seem right to use it for a giveaway :)

Hey, @bashadow—glad to be of assistance here. I've been following @docsmith for a while and he's very much into quality and getting things right, so it will make a great gift to whoever gets it. And hey, you learned something about a different kind of steel, too! Knowledge and knives. :)

I was sort of taken to it. I do like knives, but I have enough, and it would be cool to have an ironwood handle on the knife, but I don't need another knife. It was interesting learning a little bit about all the different steels.

Are you sure you don't need another knife? I mean, your words say no but they also say yes. It's kind of like man, I really would like that knife but I've got enough knives, dang it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74