Steam Key Giveaway (Her Story)

in #giveaway7 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Phew! Giving away games is a full time job!

Anyway, this time the game up for grabs is Her Story. Steam link here.

This game is a full action (movie clips) game, based around uncovering a hidden story from interviews with a mystery woman. It has been reviewed quite favourably by critics and players alike.

Entry is by upvote and comment. Please be nice, I will pick the winner from the comments at my discretion. So please engage me, talk about why you like gaming or this game in particular. Or anything else!

Please resteem if you can, it does help!

Winner will be announced and contacted in 7 days, with the prize being a HumbleBundle gift link with a Steam Key. I realise now that I wasn't supposed to just hand out the direct Steam key!

COMPETITION RULES RECAP

  1. Prize is a Steam key via Humble Bundle gift link.
  2. Entry is by upvote and comment (resteem is not necessary, but highly appreciated!)
  3. Winner is at my discretion, generally the one that I think will like it best, and that is had the most pleasant and engaging interaction.

Here is a list of awards that it has won to date:
IGF 2016
-Seumas McNally Grand Prize
-Excellence in Narrative

BAFTA 2016
-Game Innovation
-Debut Game
-Mobile & Handheld

IndieCade 2015
-Grand Jury Award

The Game Awards
-Best Narrative
-Best Performance

Golden Joysticks 2015
-Breakthrough Award

16th Annual GDC Awards
-Innovation Award
-Best Narrative
-Best Handheld/Mobile

Develop Awards 2016
-Use of Narrative
-Micro Studio
-New Games IP – PC/console

Geneva International Film Festival
-Reflet d’Or for Best Transmedia Project

Ars Independent Festival
-Special Distinction

12th IMGA
-Grand Prix
-Excellence in Innovation
-Excellence in Storytelling

SXSW Gaming Awards 2016
-Best Mobile Game

Emotional Game Awards 2016
-Best Emotional Mobile & Handheld

Webby Awards 2016
-Best Mobile Game

Definitely a good game to play for a narrative, and also as a calm aside to the shooters!

Also, there are still a couple of days left on the giveaway for Offworld Trading Company: here

Sort:  

I'm studying English and I want to hear English language because this game is not in Russian

That's a good reason! I am trying to learn as much dutch as possible by watching movies. I really should try watching out for games as well.

I used to watch anime with original Japanese voice acting and English subtitles

Wow, how is your Japanese now?

I know a few Japanese words and kanji but forgot syllabary

Have you visited Japan?

I never left Russia. I just love Japanese culture

This was an awesome game.. it deserved all the awards that it got. I remember starting the game and then sitting 5 hrs straight till I finished the whole game!

Okay, I wasn't that dedicated! 5 hours straight! These days I wish I even had 30 minutes with no interruption...

Same, I used to spend all day playing games when I had time off. Now I struggle to even have time for loading screens. Somehow I feel steemit is partly responsible though...

Pumping out riddles for us all! For me it is being a parent, this really saps the time away. But the Nintendo Switch has been a godsend! Especially with great ports of Skyrim and Darkest Dungeon, along with Zelda and Mario kart. I am even slowly getting over my irritation of not having the mouse and keyboard combo.

Not interested in the contest (already own the game on Steam and Android), just wanted to show some support for your efforts here.

Her Story is what I feel Full Motion Video games should have been doing early on. Instead we got Night Trap, Double Switch, etc. Developers should have been working in genres that offered short clips and player interaction rather than trying to go full bore and literally create interactive television (I understand that was the goal but it was too far out of reach for technology of the time).

I love a good mystery and that is where FMV games could have soared. Sadly, today FMV games are not all that common, which makes Her Story that much more of an important release. It is a great game, it gets the limitations of FMV and works around them to create something bigger than fans expected.

Good luck with the contest. I am going to upvote this article to help get it to trending and resteem so more fans have a chance to enter your contest. Thank you for doing things like this.

Thanks for helping spread the word. I have a heap of extra steam keys, keep tuned maybe something will catch your fancy?

FMV was really a dying art for a while, but it seems to have made a comeback along with adventure games (like Telltale). It does bring back fond memories of old times at university.

I also played another one recently. I forget the name at the moment, it was about an antique heist...

There are a bunch of independent FMV games on Steam - Late Shift, Her Story, Press X to Not Die, Tender Loving Care (Mature), Contradiction and a few more. There were more in the past but they have been delisted on Steam and Android (one was a great detective story I was hoping they would finish the trilogy but only released the first episode).

I think FMV style games will make a return on modern platforms but it will be more "animated" like what Telltale does rather than filmed actors. The 3D model but controlled camera angle and such gives developers much more freedom.

There are even some "Choose Your Own Adventure" videos on YouTube that recreate the idea of early FMV games quite well.

I still believe FMV could be a safe haven for certain genres such as mystery and horror.

Late shift! That was it. I liked it but wasn't really hooked to go back and replay it. I thought the narrative structure would be interesting to my wife, but she is hung up on what the idea of 'gaming' is.

Somehow, late shift didn't really work as well as Her Story. It felt stilted during the choices. Made it feel a bit like Dora the Explorer!

The replay value is a problem a lot of FMV games suffer from. Then there is the acting, as you mentioned with Late Shift. Sometimes it is off or just not good.

I think it has to do with waiting for the player's input. This is where Her Story worked better. Built as a database of clips, rather than trying to make a movie. Like you said before, working with the limitations of the genre.

Exactly. That is why I was saying genres like mystery or horror would work best. How Her Story does it is great. I could see that being the basis for a lot of other games, kind of like how Super Mario Bros became the basis for other run and jump games.

Imagine being a detective trying to piece together the crime in the future, when having tons of video available would be the norm. Then have it go twisty like Saw or something just to screw with gamers. Considering the available memory on media today, the developers could do more than one "ending" randomly picked kind of like Paranormal Activity did with their screenings. Just have the game, each play through, pick a different set of circumstances and such to lead to another ending. That would have been near impossible back in the early days of CD-ROM technology as CD's are just too small for that much video.

I remembered another FMV game that did it quite well, it was on the PSP and iOS (may have hit other platforms). It was called Hysteria Project.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hysteria_Project

It was short as hell but quite scary and it had great interacting with the player, at least I thought so when I played it on the PSP. It was less than $5 so I gave it a chance and liked it. Certainly got more entertainment out of it than most $5 movies that had as much name recognition at Walmart.

There is also a one on one fighting game for Steam and Android (may be on other platforms too) called - Stay Dead Evolution. http://store.steampowered.com/app/341070/Stay_Dead_Evolution/
It is pretty decent for a FMV fighting game. I liked it on Android. Haven't tried it on Steam yet.

Another is The Bunker. http://store.steampowered.com/app/481110/The_Bunker/

This is a good one. I have it but have not played it a lot. My friends that got it say it is freaking awesome and one of the better games in this genre. It is horror based.

This site is a good source of FMV games and the platforms they were released on - http://www.fmvworld.com/console_android.html
The genre is not dead, it is just on life support.

Wow, you know your stuff in this genre. Horror isn't really for me. But that stay dead evolution looks really good, off to the play store!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bengy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I've never actually hear of that game till now but it sounds very interesting, I haven't played a game like that really, the closest if probably assassin's creed syndicate dreadful crimes lol. I did like the mystery bit though so a game devoted to that should be fun. (Enter me in the competition please.)

I don't know that Assassin's creed game. This is a really unique game though, well worth it! And lots to discover.

The Dreadful Crimes are a series of investigations that the Frye twins can undertake. These differ quite a bit from the normal gameplay, as they involve questioning people, finding clues and solving murders.
http://www.ign.com/wikis/assassins-creed-syndicate/Dreadful_Crimes

Thanks for the info. I got a bit stuck on the Assassin's Creed series. Keep trying to play the first one, but don't really get into it. Maybe I should try again with a later one.

I fell in love with assassins creed 2, since then some have been good some have been bad. I'd recommend AC2, Black flag/rogue or syndicate. The only one not dated is syndicate though. They like to confuse you with two almost unrelated story lines that put a lot of people off and confuse those who haven't played the entire series but I've always found them fun.

Maybe I will skip the first one then. It also feels old to play on PC, the graphics and controls didn't agree very well. But in the plus side, I don't need to run it on my desktop, the laptop can do it!

Congratulations, I have picked you for this game! Go to https://steemit.com/giveaway/@bengy/steam-key-winner-her-story and leave me your details there.

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Woohoo! Thanks bot!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83