Not Your Average #girlboss

in #girlboss8 years ago (edited)


"Chase Your Dreams... in high heels of course!"

Women are breaking the mainstream growing in numbers as a #girlboss. I love the fact that women are taking the common and making it great!

I have fellow #womeninbiz that have taken what has been known for decades as "female" tasks and turned them into full blown businesses that's bringing in that check and breaking the bank. Several have turned everyday household chores into money making platforms from juicing to maid work. A few of them have turned office work such as administrative assisting and call center reps into freelancing businesses and have taken them to higher levels. One that baffles me all the time is my #ladybosses that have taken the "gossip" weekend round table and have turned them into platforms and support groups for other women on such a wider scale.

Who me? Why yes. I thought you'd never ask!

I am the founder and owner of The Hitch Chicks LLC, a web-based wedding and event planning company that started 3 years ago in the comfortable cubicle space I call "the past". Did I start just to join the mainstream? Not at all. I started because I knew there was more to life than just existing. I was ready to live and I was ready to do it on my own terms. I was tired of going to a 9-5 Monday thru Friday making bank for someone who knew nothing about me or even cared to to be honest. However, I took what I have learned over the years planning and organizing meetings and events for the administrative team and turned it into something that would work for me. No longer was I going to live inside of a box. I made the decision to color outside of the lines and continue coloring my own path to success.

In my industry, I tripled my yearly salary of $31,500 in income running my own business in the first 6 months. Now, in just 3 years I have increased my income to over $600k in services and digital products.

What was my product?
Planning strategies and challenges. I was providing information that I was using during my many years as a bridesmaid and the hurdles I faced planning my own wedding to create tips and tricks for the newly engaged bride2be and even when I started I was offering it for free because I wanted to help. I wanted to help women who were just like me; swamped with everyday tasks associated with the many hats as a mother, mate, friend, business woman (to name a few) to still be able to plan a fabulous wedding without the many stressors of the planning process. It went so well that even when I added a price tag to it, I saw a way to not only provide others with something that I was passionate about, but could give me freedom from a job that was stressful, that I saw no growth potential, and had me just over broke most weeks.

So how am I not your average #girlboss?
I am my own boss. I make my own schedule. I make my own rules. I got out and chased my dreams and although I've made mistakes along the way, it didn't stop me from continuing to pursue MY inevitable. Much respect to the women in administrative roles. I admire your growth and numerous achievements in whatever industry you're successful in. I just knew my work was outside of the cubicle space and inside of a world where there's a whole heap of possibility. Do it afraid.... it'll pay off in the long run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62