Ordinary girl

in #girl7 years ago

I like to think of myself as an ordinary girl,
cocooned comfortably in her ordinary world.
I'm a bougainvillea shrub, peeking from behind a wall,
extending my festooned arm awkwardly to passers by.
I'm the restless naked flame in the wind,
waltzing relentlessly to a dangerous chime.
I'm the tense stillness of a haunted library,
where repose secrets and half-lies.
I'm the tiny, perfect drops of rain
that settle uninvited on your glasses.
I'm a solitary rose, whose petals kids tear at;
I have thorns that will sting.
I'm the sun-glazed waves, far off in the ocean
I'm dangerous territory.
I'm a miasma of colourful confusion,
I'm the dust that never settles.
I'm the quiet glimmer on a platinum surface,
I'll shine when the moment's right.
I'll guide you, I'm a lost firefly,
Don't cage me; I'll show you the way.
I'm the infinite possibilities that could be,
I'm many, too many things at once.
And yet, I'm just another ordinary girl,
cocooned comfortably in her ordinary world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59871.00
ETH 2671.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47