Doctor lets 12-year-old girl help deliver baby brother

in #girl7 years ago

Jacee Dellapena can’t wait until her newborn baby brother is old enough to hear the story about how he was born.

Not only was his 12-year-old sister in the hospital birthing room, she actually helped deliver him.

The rising seventh-grader from Brandon, Mississippi, physically helped bring her baby brother into the world Tuesday. She then got to cut his umbilical cord.

12-year-old-delivers-baby-today-170609-01_1ccf346d1d7d8d60f8cdbc53acf106e2.today-inline-large.jpg

Jacee originally just wanted to get a good vantage point in the delivery room, but her mother was lying on a table that had been propped up too high for her to see any of the action.

“I started crying because I was too short to see anything,” she told TODAY. “The doctor was like, 'Just go ahead and get some gear on and come help me deliver the baby.'”

"I was like, are you kidding me? Are you being real?"

The suggestion also came as a surprise to her mom, Dede Carraway, 34.

“I couldn’t believe it. I was like, what? Uh, no. Never in a million years. But the doctor said, ‘I’m being serious. I’ll guide her hands and everything,’” Carraway recalled. “So she got up in there and was suddenly in the middle of everything.”

![12-year-old-delivers-baby-today-170609-03_1ccf346d1d7d8d60f8cdbc53acf106e2.today-inline-large.jpg]
()

Jacee had wanted to be in the delivery room for the birth of her other brother, Zayden, 18 months ago, but her mom thought she was too young. This time around, Jacee began making her case for being at the delivery as soon as she learned her mother was pregnant again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55