Will There Be a Big Jump in Accounts this Xmas Season?

in #gifts6 years ago

The chart in this post comes from the @arcange account which produces daily statistics.

The chart shows a steady decline in active users since January. This decline in users has me more worried than the price of STEEM.

The chart also shows that December 2017 and January 2018 were the months that SteemIt exploded onto the scene. I suspect that many of the January accounts were people who applied in December and got in in January.

Yesterday I brought up the idea of giving SteemIt as a gift.

Personally, I would not give a person an account with just 15 SP. The user wouldn't have enough STEEM POWER to carry on a conversation and their upvote would be worthless. A gift recipient would hate the free account. Were I to give a SteemIt account as a gift, I would want to recipient to have at least 50 SP so that they could post without hitting limits.

Since the gift recipient is likely to upvote posts from the gift giver, it would be smart to delegate even more SP.

Were I to give a small group of people SteemIt.com, I would want the group to have enough SP so that the voting power of the group was well over $0.02. If the total voting power of the ring is well over 0.02; one should be able to get over the problem of STEEM dust.

People who want to give SteemIt accounts as gifts need to buy STEEM POWER so that the accounts have a decent delegation.

My guess is that others know this dynamic. December should be a big month for the platform.

I would not be surprised to see a jump in 30,000 active users this December.

active.png

Sort:  

Hello @yintercept

I dont see where buying power could come from. Remaining of trust and hope for another bull run in 2018 has been absolutely crashed. That's how I see it.

providing new users with voting power worth of 50 SP would be indeed a wise idea.

Also just wanted to say: big thx for your comment regarding Security Tokens vs ICO. Appreciate.

I will follow you closely.
Cheers, Thomas from CreativeBlue

Things are bleak for people who see STEEM as an investment.

SteemIt is not a great content delivery system either. Content does not fit the seven day cycle.

SteemIt is still an interesting social media platform. Steemit created something unique by combining a wallet with a utility token.

As a lone wolf who is trying STEEM. I've found the site extremely frustrating. I thought the token was overpriced and wouldn't buy it.

However, if I were a community organizer, I would see things differently. Lets say I had a group of 50 people who were interested in social networking. I would see it as a good investment to buy enough tokens so that they each had $100 or so in their wallets. That way when they engaged in social networking, they would fill each other's wallets.

Were a bunch of people to give SteemIt as a gift (that is they pay the 3.000 STEEM creation fee and delegate several hundred dollars in STEEM to the accounts); then we could see a bump in STEEM during December.

If I don't see this, then I think SteemIt might be headed to the dotcom bust pile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82