The Unsuspecting Gift

in #gift7 years ago

To me i believe the biggest gift that my ex-wife had left me is when she instilled in my daughter a notion, more or less an opinion of her father. And that it all started when i had my daughter for visitation. It was a warm summer Saturday night around 8pm and i had told my kid to get ready to take a bath. And as i had set her up and drew the bath i walked away giving the young toddler her privacy.

While getting her bed ready she cried, "Dad, Dad, Daddy!!!" So i hurried along and walked over to the bathroom and opened up the door.
toddler girl getting a bath.jpg

Casually reaching over to scrub her back she asked me a simple question.

"Daddy, what is a loser?"
I replied, " Someone who lost, or always loses...why?" I asked.

"Mom says you are a loser." she replied innocently

Feeling hurt, i hurriedly pulled her out of the bath and dried her off. Stunned and shocked... i didn't know what to do so i tucked her into bed and thought over and over again, until i came up with a mantra that i wanna share with you.

Work while they sleep
Learn while they party
Save while they spend
Then live the life they dream.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62405.22
ETH 2436.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62